Rabbuni!

(Re-post of a personal favorite)

Mary Magdalene, what are you about,
as I follow your footsteps through the gospels?
You begin and you end with JESUS.

I see you at Simon’s house
with your perfumed oil,
and I find you again at the tomb,
carrying fragrant spices.

What are you about Mary?
You are unique in the gospels,
as the one always at the feet of Jesus.

At your home, where Martha busied herself.
at the Cross with Our Lady.
I never find you when you are not in adoration of Him.

Such faithful love did not go unnoticed.                                                                                    You were the first to see Him after He rose.
“Mary,” He said,
And you were at His feet again.

Mary Magdalene, what are you about?
Tell me please,
that I too may follow in your way

And anoint today
the Adorable Face of JESUS,
with grateful love.

And sit at His feet,
washing them with
tears of repentance

And stand by the Cross,
consoling Him as I bear
my own little crosses.

And someday, behold Him
resurrected as you did,
and fall at His feet in worship.

Where are you going O Mary?
Take me along please!
For no greater words could I hear
Than those JESUS spoke of you:

“She loved much.”

4 thoughts on “Rabbuni!

  1. You really should think about publishing your poems Patricia, they’re so beautiful and full of love for Jesus that they remind of the poetry Therese wrote. If you have the Magnificat there is an interesting mediation on Mary Magdalene today by St Maxim of Turin. Let me know if you can’t find it.
    Love and prayers,
    Joyce

    • Joyce, what kind words! Thank you. Maybe one of these days I’ll try putting together a little e-book. πŸ™‚

      I’m one of the few people who doesn’t subscribe to Magnificat. I really need to, as everyone says how wonderful it is. I would love to read the meditation on Mary Magdalene. I’ll have to see if google will bring it up. If you have a link, let me know. Blessings always, and thank you again for your encouragement. xoxo

  2. Patricia,

    I agree with Joyce! Your poetry is full of feeling and very beautiful. It should be shared more widely.

    I haven’t read any of St Therese’s poetry. Perhaps I should!

    God bless you!

    • Hi Erma! πŸ™‚

      I’m so happy you like the poems. That means a lot. But, you really should read Therese’s book of poetry. I would recommend the one from ICS publications, translated by Donald Kinney, OCD. It’s considered the “critical edition.” The poems are included in the original French, as well as Father Kinney’s excellent translation. I say “excellent,” not because I understand French, but because I have read a few other translations of some of her poems and cringed….whereas Father Kinney seems to have truly captured her spirit. Just bet you could work some of those poems into your Little Way homeschooling curriculum. My favorite is Living on Love. But, they are all beautiful! Sending a hug across the sea….xoxo

Your thoughts?