The wrappings of a soul….

wrappingsThere are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal. Nations, cultures, arts, civilizations – these are mortal, and their life is to ours as the life of a gnat. But it is immortals whom we joke with, work with, marry, snub, and exploit – immortal horrors or everlasting splendors.”
C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory (emphasis mine)

I was in line for confession one Saturday when he entered.  He was bent at almost a 90 degree angle, slowly pushing his walker over to the the long line of waiting penitents, who quickly made space for him at the front..

His hair was snow white, and I thought he must be at least 90 years old, or close to it.  As I watched him shuffle into the reconciliation room, I marveled at such a sight.  I couldn’t help but imagine that a most beautiful soul was “wrapped up” in that very broken and frail body.  Here he was, making such a valiant effort to confess his sins.  I was humbled by this man’s act, which made him so beautiful to me, in spite of his outward appearance.

I often ponder the “wrappings” of souls.  There was a time when I simply imagined that a soul filled one’s body.  But of course, a soul is a spirit and takes up no space.  It does not have a location in the body, but in some mysterious way, inhabits it, or rather is united to it in forming one being.

God is much more interested in the soul, than in the body, and He has many ways of wrapping up these precious souls which bear His Own Image and Likeness.

We, more often than not, first look at the wrapping.  Some souls are wrapped beautifully, but others are plain or even revolting.  The worldly quickly fall in love with the beautiful wrappings while often ignoring what lies beneath.

Every person we see is a mystery, a gift, an immortal being.  Each one is so loved by God that He thirsts for them as if their were no others.  Jesus would have died for only you….or me.  If we want to measure the worth of a soul, we need only to look at a crucifix.

I love the quote above by C.S. Lewis.  I am delighted to look around a crowd of people and realize that I am among immortal beings infinitely loved by God.  I do not know who is the greater or the lesser in His eyes.  The wrappings don’t tell.  I only know that I am called to love and cherish each one of them, because He loves them so.

It is a terrible thing to hurt another human being:  to inflict the pain of a cruel remark, to ignore them, reject them, take them for granted.  The world is full of wounded people because we can be so careless, so mean.  As Lewis says above, these are “possible gods and goddesses.”  And it is so true.  They are already the children of God, so beloved by Him.

I confess that it helps me to love others when I see them in this light.  I am moved to respect them more when I realize that they are indeed immortal beings, destined for greatness, for Heaven, for a participation in God’s Own Life.

You are all beautiful!  You are all possessed of great dignity!  You are all worthy of respect, love, and kindness. You will live forever.  

No matter how God has wrapped us, one day we will be unveiled and our true beauty will be revealed, and that beauty will reflect only one thing:  how much we have loved.  And immortal beings that we are, we shall wear that wrapping….the one love wove for us for all eternity,.

My dear friends, if God loved us so much, we too should love each other.  No one has ever seen God, but as long as we love each other God remains in us and his love comes to its perfection in us.  (I John 4:11-12)

5 thoughts on “The wrappings of a soul….

  1. amen… every single person on this planet.. even those we don’t have much respect for because they are lazy and feed off of the Welfare system, curse, act like animals and sit on their couches all day drinking case after case of beer and have no respect for others, the law or themselves. Even THOSE kinds of people were created with potential that if they but opened their hearts to Jesus, the Lord could restore and transform them into the Gemstone He created them to be. Even those kinds of people have an individual beauty unlike any other person that if they allowed the Holy Spirit to refine and purify them, that individual beauty would grow and manifest.. Not one person was born an “accident”.. we just need to individually open our hearts to the Holy Spirit and ask Him to make us into what He had intended us to become . He created us but now He wants to “form” us! He loves each human and knows what He can create in them if they but permit Him to do so. This is something the Lord reminds me of when I am around those I would normally judge .. and my judgements would be correct too.. however, the Lord sees what I do not see, and He knows that all that person has to do is come to Him and He creates HIS Beauty out of nothing.. No person is a waste. We are only a waste if we live to ourselves independently of our God and Creator!
    love and have a beautiful Mother’s Day sis!
    lisa

    • Lisa, so good to see you again! I have been thinking about you.

      Yes, we all struggle to love our neighbor at times. I really have to pray for the rabidly pro-choice crowd who make my blood boil.

      The great joy for me in Lewis’ quote is truly seeing each person we encounter as an “immortal being.” It’s
      so fascinating, because we all look so “ordinary.” 🙂 I think of how great a soul must be…how exquisitely precious, that God is so in love with each one.

      May He grant that we may love Him and one another so much that we shall forever have the most beautiful heavenly “wrapping” to enchant our Beloved King. ❤

    • Colleen, thank you so much for commenting, and for “getting it.” 🙂 I keep checking your blog for new posts. I hope you will write again when you have time. Happy Mother’s Day….belatedly. Hugs to you, dear friend.

  2. Wow…this is beautiful writing and truth. I love the “wrappings of souls” and the beauty and dignity of the bent, old man. The immortal, divine souls in all is good to contemplate so we are able to love others better, no matter how “God has wrapped us.” Thank you for this truth and writing from the heart and soul. I’ve missed your recent posts as they did not show up in my email! I have missed you!! So grateful you were able to go to Lourdes. Love, light and prayers for you always….

Your thoughts?

