Jesus, my King and Bridegroom…

Crucifixion, Bartolome Esteban Murillo

Crucifixion, Bartolome Esteban Murill

This evening at Mass, on the Solemnity of Christ the King, I watched as the line formed to receive Our Lord’s Precious Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity in Holy Communion.

Is Jesus not the most approachable of Kings?  One Who is humble, condescending and generous beyond all imagining!

As I took my place in the Communion line I thought of how this Glorious King does not seek to surround Himself with the rich and powerful of His Kingdom, but prefers the simple and ordinary souls who would never be allowed in the presence of an earthly king.

Yet, if Jesus has any favorites, it is the poorest, most despised and rejected among us.  His heart aches to love the least loved.  His Mercy burns for the most wretched sinner. Jesus is the King of Love.

As I drew nearer to the priest and glanced above the altar, I did not behold a King robed in magnificent garments and crowned with jewels.  I saw a gentle and irresistible King, hanging on a cross and wearing a crown of thorns.

This is Jesus Who is both King and Bridegroom, Whose Merciful Heart longs to wed every soul to Himself, to give each a share in His Eternal Glory and even a participation in His Own Divine Life.

That is what you do when you wed someone.  You give them all that you have, and all that you are.  And when Jesus gives Himself to us in Holy Communion, that is what He does.  He gives ALL.

And for a throne, Jesus desires our hearts….yours and mine.  How unthinkable that He would prefer us over all Creation, but He does.  He yearns to be King of our hearts and make His dwelling there.  He told us so on the night before He died.

Anyone who loves Me will keep my word,
and my Father will love him,
and we shall come to him
and make a home in him. (John 14:23) NJB

I could never find a picture for this post, glorious and beautiful enough to illustrate Jesus as He reigns in Heaven.  But, I don’t think Jesus minds at all.  He still bears His Wounds in Glory.

And somehow, I think He prefers the crown of thorns over any crown of gold and precious stones.

It is His Crown of Love….this King of Love.  My King.  Hopefully, your King too..

Our Heavenly Bridegroom!

4 thoughts on “Jesus, my King and Bridegroom…

  1. Beautiful insights on Jesus , our humble King of Kings… so humble, yet so Majestic at the same time! I said a prayer and asked the Lord if He would give me something for you of His words to Gabrielle Bossis in “He and I”, and I opened blindly to the following. I think it really ties-in :

    January 22 – 1948: Gabrielle asked the Lord, “Would you like us to talk about Your love, Lord?”
    Jesus’s reply that she recorded is as follows: “I am like the shy people, I prefer you to discover it yourselves, fearing that by speaking about it I seem to force it upon you….”

    *sigh*… Our Lord is soooo Beautiful and sweet!!! There are supervisors and managers in every company, yet none of them are as humble and tender as our King..Who reigns over all Universes.
    God bless you, Sister, for this wonderful blogpost. I love your blog!
    hugs
    lisa

  2. This is so very beautiful, Patricia. What joy you bring Him by your loving words and witness!
    Yes, you know very well, my dear sister..He is my King too…and my beloved Bridegroom.
    How strange the values of the consecrated soul are! For we long so dearly to gain many more spouses for our glorious Husband. There is no jealousy or question of holding onto Him solely for ourselves, for He is so beautiful that we are devotedly compelled to share Him..and in sharing we suffer no lessening of His love for us! What earthly king compares with Him? There is none to be found or desired as our precious Lord Jesus Christ, King of Merciful Love!
    xox

  3. He is Beauty and Truth and Love! So grateful for the amazing gift of Him and your wonderful words and images and music! “His Crown of Love.” May we kneel to our King always. God Bless….I have missed you!!!

Your thoughts?

