Watch with Me…

 “Could you not watch one hour with me?”  (MT 26:40)

 
It was Thursday night.  I wrote Father’s words down on the crisp white page of my new journal: The Church is still trying to recover the lost holy hour of Gethsemane.

I had never thought about that before….the “lost holy hour.”

Jesus did not receive the comfort of this first holy hour from His closest apostles, who fell asleep when He needed them most. But was it to them alone that He implored, “Could you not watch one hour with me?”

Was His voice not resounding throughout the centuries, imploring the heart of each man and woman…

Watch with me…Oh please watch with me!
Care that I love you so much
Care that My Blood poured out as sweat upon the ground.
Care that I pressed My Face into the dirt,
unable to bear that so many would reject My Love.
It was not the physical suffering which tore at My Heart,
but the sight of all who would refuse My Love, even hate Me.
This was the chalice I begged My Father to remove from Me..
The chalice of rejection…Love would not be loved!
I would lose forever, so many precious souls  
Whom I gladly paid for with My Blood.

You at least, watch with Me!

 

THE FIRST STATION

Jesus is condemned to die.

“His cheek still burned with the kiss of betrayal.”               

O my God! I too have left You such burning kisses, betraying You by my sins
after You have given me Your Very Life.

My Jesus, grant that I may now cover You with sweet and tender kisses of love.
Time grows short…this could be my last moment on earth….to love You.

Jesus, You burn; You thirst; You die for those tender kisses.
You gave Your Life for them.
You gave Your Life for Love…our love.
“I THIRST.”  You cried out.
“Give Me to drink.”  You begged.

Must you always be so parched, my beloved Jesus?
Oh, give me the Grace to comfort You, for without You, I can do nothing.

My Jesus, quivering in your suffering,
I will put my arms around You.
I will try to cool your burning cheek with grateful kisses.
I will watch with You.

(first posted on February 2, 2012)

6 thoughts on “Watch with Me…

  1. I never thought about it like this either, Patricia~the lost Holy Hour. I sometimes sadly leave my holy hour thinking that it was somewhat of a lost hour because of the distractions either in my head or those coming from others in the chapel. With Jesus right in front of me, I shouldn’t be distracted. I look forward to the day when I can shed this sinful nature and praise and love Him as He deserves. Of course that isn’t until I reach heaven so for now I will keep the words you have recorded here to remind me not to be a spoiled brat during my Holy Hour πŸ™‚
    Thanks! xoxo

    • Karin, I am certain that you are not a “spoiled brat” during your holy hours! πŸ™‚ I was thinking today of the welcome Jesus must give to all who enter into His Presence in these chapels. Can you imagine Him being anything but filled with joy and love to see you? I get so distracted too, especially if I’m tired and stayed up too late the night before. And, I think you actually go late at night…a sacrifice hour. Don’t you find that each holy hour is unique? I have the “nodding off” ones, and the “head pounding” days. Then, there are some very beautiful and focused holy hours and then those when my soul is as dry as sand. I think the best part for Jesus is that we come. He knows we are made of dust, and that we still need work πŸ™‚ He loves you so much, Karin! xo

  2. Patricia, this was so incredibly moving! Will you be writing about all fourteen stations? Please do! I want more! It would be wonderful to have your thoughts in a booklet format to pray with-what do you think?

    • Anne, thank you for the kind words! I hadn’t thought about writing more stations, but I will pray about it. The picture of that statue of Judas kissing Jesus just breaks my heart, and so that’s how that first station came about. A booklet? I’d like to give it a try, only because a few people have asked me. It would be an interesting challenge πŸ™‚ I haven’t investigated e-book format yet.
      Forgive me for such a late reply. I have been simply exhausted for the past couple of weeks. Turns out I’ve had a sinus infection, and with antibiotics, am already feeling much better! Hugs to you, dear Anne! So glad we visit on FB!

  3. Yes! I agree with Anne, would love a booklet to pray with! This post is wonderful and I the “lost holy hour” will be with me on many levels. I too hope you will write more! Thank you for your gift of these powerful prayers. God Bless you dear friend xoxoxoxox…

    • Cynthia, so sorry for being late here! I’ve been out of the loop..not feeling well. Better now! If I ever get a booklet together, I promise you one. Thank you so much for your always encouraging words. God is so good to let all of us share the thoughts and praises He gives to our hearts..each in a unique way. God bless you too, and many big HUGS!

Your thoughts?

