What St. Therese thought about Our Lady……

Assumption

St. Therese had little patience with legendary stories of Our Lady, or grandiose depictions of her life.  The Mary whom Therese knew and loved was the simple maiden of the gospels, who had to live her life with faith and trust in God and with simplicity and love, enduring hardships and trials as she followed the path God marked out for her, even to the foot of the Cross.

Below are some of my favorite observations of Therese about Our Holy Mother.

“It is all very well to speak of her love and prerogatives, but we must not stop there.  We must make her loved.  If a sermon on Our Lady forces us from beginning to end to gasp with amazement, we soon have enough of it, and it will lead neither to love or imitation.  The Blessed Virgin prefers imitation to admiration, as her life was so simple.”

“To ask something of the Blessed Virgin is not the same as to ask something of God.  She knows well what to do with all my little desires and it is for her to decide whether to ask for them or not.”

Therese, taking issue with those who claim that the glory of Mary will eclipse that of all the Saints, as the sun eclipses the moon exclaimed:

How strange that would be, a mother extinguishing the glory of her children!  I believe quite the opposite, that she increases many times the glory of the elect.  We all know that the Blessed Virgin is Queen of Heaven and earth, but she is more Mother than Queen.”

Therese was simply delighted by Mary’s very existence.

“Who could have invented her, if God had not created her just as she is?”

“We are much happier than she is, for she has no Blessed Virgin to love!  How much more is that a joy for us, and how much less it is one for her.”

“I like to hide my suffering from God; but I hide nothing from the Blessed Virgin.  I tell her everything.”

And…the last words she ever wrote on earth, on the back of a picture of Our Lady of Victories:

“Oh, Mary, if I were the Queen of Heaven and you were Therese, I would like to be Therese in order to see you Queen of Heaven.”

Quotations by Therese taken from Heart of Love Eugene McCaffrey, OCD Veritas publications, 1998
(re-post from the archives, September 2011)

10 thoughts on “What St. Therese thought about Our Lady……

    • Hi Cynthia. Thanks for the very kind words. I love that painting of Our Lady. She looks so young. Actually, it’s on a rosary DVD I bought, and I fell in love with it. I had to search all over to find it on the Internet. Someone had it on Pinterest…of course. 🙂 So happy you enjoyed Therese’s wisdom. She’s my favorite! So glad to see you here. I absolutely love your poetry! What a great gift from God! Come visit me again soon…and Have a very Blessed Feast of Our Lady’s Assumption tomorrow.

  1. Patricia,

    It is already the solemnity of the Assumption here, so I am delighted to read St Therese’s words about Our Lady on such a special day. Thank you for your post.

    I am reading two spiritual books at the moment: one about St Therese and one about Mary!

    With love xx

    • Sue, I can imagine those are two excellent books. Care to share the titles? The book gluttons will gather round…that includes about all of us in my little corner of the blogosphere. 🙂 I hope you had a beautiful Feast Day. I love the readings on the Feast of the Assumption…especially the one from Revelation. How’s the epic journey going? Love and hugs….

  2. Beautiful. Such a Carmelite understanding of Mary, and I confess that I too like to stick to the Gospels, rather than legendary or mystical accounts of Mary’s life. But my Marian devotion/imitation needs lots of work. Happy feast day!

    • Thanks, Connie. I know what you mean about your Marian devotion needing work. Me too. i’ve been trying to work on that lately…especially with the rosary. I totally agree with you…and Therese 🙂 I really dislike those flowery, sort of legendary tales about Our Lady. I think she was probably very normal in all the best ways. Hope you had a wonderful Feast Day!

Your thoughts?

