O “my Three,” my All my Beatitude…

I have posted this before, but it is my favorite prayer to the Most Blessed Trinity, written by a Carmelite nun, Blessed Elizabeth of the Trinity, whose name means “house of God.” How providential! She was enraptured by the truth that the Divine Trinity dwelled within her soul. Her desire was that her life be a “praise of glory.”

“A praise of Glory is a soul of silence that remains like a lyre under the mysterious touch of the Holy Spirit so that He may draw from it divine harmonies; it knows that suffering is a string that produces still more beautiful sounds; so it loves to see this string on its instrument that it may more delightfully move the heart of God…” Blessed Elizabeth of the Trinity.

Today’s Feast is especially dear to my heart, as I am observing the 12th anniversary of my Definitive Promise as a secular discalced Carmelite. Thanks be to our Triune God!

Please join me in praising Him with Blessed Elizabeth in her exquisite prayer:

elizabeth

Prayer to the Most Holy Trinity
By
Blessed Elizabeth of the Trinity, OCD

O my God, Trinity whom I adore, help me to become utterly forgetful of myself so that I may establish myself in you, as changeless and calm as though my soul were already in eternity. Let nothing disturb my peace nor draw me forth f from you, O my unchanging God, but at every moment may I penetrate more deeply into the depths of your mystery. Give peace to my soul; make it your heaven, your cherished dwelling-place and the place of your repose. Let me never leave you there alone, but keep me there, wholly attentive, wholly alert in my faith, wholly adoring and fully given up to your creative action.

O my beloved Christ, crucified for love, I long to be the bride of your heart. I long to cover you with glory, to love you even unto death! Yet I sense my powerlessness and beg you to clothe me with yourself. Identify my soul with all the movements of your soul, submerge me, overwhelm me, substitute yourself for me, so that my life may become a reflection of your life. Come into me as Adorer, as Redeemer and as Saviour.

O Eternal Word, utterance of my God, I want to spend my life listening to you, to become totally teachable so that I might learn all from you. Through all darkness, all emptiness, all powerlessness, I want to keep my eyes fixed on you and to remain under your great light. O my Beloved Star, so fascinate me that I may never be able to leave your radiance.

O Consuming Fire, Spirit of Love, overshadow me so that the Word may be, as it were incarnate again in my soul. May I be for him a new humanity in which he can renew all his mystery.

And you, O Father, bend down towards your poor little creature. Cover her with your shadow, see in her only your beloved son in who you are well pleased

O my `Three’, my All, my Beatitude, infinite Solitude, Immensity in which I lose myself, I surrender myself to you as your prey. Immerse yourself in me so that I may be immersed in you until I go to contemplate in your light the abyss of your splendour!

12 thoughts on “O “my Three,” my All my Beatitude…

    • Thank you, Anne! It’s so hard to believe that it has been 12 years already…and 18 since I began my journey in Carmel. I was so delighted to be professed on this beautiful Feast of The Holy Trinity. Blessed Elizabeth had such beautiful insights into this holy mystery of the indwelling of God in our souls. I plan to get to know her better this year. You were so sweet to stop and say hello today.

  1. A happy and blessed anniversary to you Patricia! I love the Carmelite saints. Elizabeth of the Trinity is one of my favorites. Her writings really strike a deep chord in me. Joining you in this beautiful prayer of hers.
    God bless.

    • Karin, thank you for joining me in Blessed Elizabeth’s prayer…and for your anniversary wishes. So glad you love the Carmelite Saints…maybe one day you will join us?! 🙂 You’d be wonderful! I want to read more of Blessed Elizabeth’s writings. I haven’t spent too much time with her, as I am so drawn to Therese, and we also read and study John of the Cross and St. Teresa a lot. There are so many amazing Carmelite Saints. I also love St. Teresa of the Andes. Hope you had a lovely holiday today! God bless you.

  2. Sending my belated congratulations, Patricia. This is such deep and beautiful prayer that I must come back and read slooowly.
    .”to become totally teachable”
    That’s only four words and I’m stuck here for meditation already!
    Love and Blessings +

    • Caroline, isn’t it amazing how the Saints can get us “stuck” with only a couple of words? This prayer of Blessed Elizabeth could keep me busy for a month at least! I also love what she wrote about being a Praise of Glory and how it relates to suffering. I could spend some time on that one too!
      Awww, thanks for the congratulations, but they really aren’t belated. I picked some up over at your blog as well. 🙂

      PS Are you planning to read Mother Dolores Hart’s book on her life? Ear to the Heart…I think is the title. I’m hoping to get it for my birthday July 4. If not, I’ll give it to myself for a present! I love her, and am sure her story is so inspiring. Also, I read they need money to make some expensive repairs and updates to their monastery. I’m sure the book royalties will help. Love and hugs…prayers for your precious baby too. I remembered him in adoration yesterday. So-o-o-o happy for you! xo

  3. Patricia, I haven’t heard of Bl. Elizabeth before but, after reflecting on this prayer, I’m intrigued by her. This was so beautiful – it really connected with the yearnings of my heart. Thank you for sharing.

    God bless:-)

    • Vicky, welcome! Blessed Elizabeth isn’t as well known as some of the other Carmelite Saints, but she is very interesting. Her personal charism was a deep devotion to and insight into the precious indwelling of the Most Holy Trinity within our souls. You can probably tell that from her prayer!
      So happy you were blessed by it. Hope all is well with you and your beautiful family. It’s getting very hot here, but I know winter is coming for you. God bless you always!

  4. A happy Profession Day to you, Patricia! What a mature Carmelite you are compared to me in my gangly adolescence, still awaiting final profession.

    Thank you for this lovely post. What a chest of gems we have in all our Carmelite saints and their writings. I am just in the middle of St. Teresa of the Andes’ biography and was just reading an article about today’s blessed, Bl. Elia of St. Clement, OCD.

    May God be praised!

    • Hi Cindy! Thank you for the best wishes! I have a feeling you are well along your way on the Ascent to Mt. Carmel, even if you haven’t made your final profession yet. I know, because I read your beautiful book. (A review will appear one day soon….surprise!) 🙂

      Yes, we do indeed have a “chest of gems” in our Carmelite Saints. One lifetime could never be enough time to really study them all. I love Teresa of the Andes. I especially love her letters. Have you read those? There is also an excellent mini-series about her which EWTN used to run. It has sub-titles, but isn’t hard to follow. It was beautifully done. Ignatius Press sells it. She is a precious Saint.

      Always so happy to see you here! Hope you will write another book soon. You have such a gift! God bless you! xoxo

Your thoughts?

