Self-Offering to the Holy Spirit….

O_Come_Holy_Spirit_by_LordShadowblade1

Holy Spirit, God of Love,
be present to me;
accept the offering of myself
which I make to you.
Receive these hands, these feet, these eyes,
this tongue, and all my senses.

Receive
my memory, my will, my understanding,
my desires, my sighs, the longings
and the aspirations of my soul.
Receive my every hour, my every moment,
and all the happenings of my life.

Holy Spirit, God of Love,
knit my soul to you.
Let your love possess my whole being
my senses, my powers, my affections,
my very life.

Let your love rule my labor and my rest,
my going and my staying,
and move me as it pleases.
Let your love disquiet or comfort me,
humble or exalt me,
and burn away all my faults.

Holy Spirit, God of Love,
draw me to yourself.
Do with me what you will.
Nothing will cause me fear
if only your love enfolds me.

Devotions to the Holy Spirit
Brian Moore, SJ
Copyright 1976, Brian Moore, SJ
Pauline Books and Media

9 thoughts on “Self-Offering to the Holy Spirit….

  1. Patricia, …What a beautiful prayer..I especially love “receive…my sighs..” just as the Scripture says, ‘The Holy Spirit prays for us in our weakness with groanings to deep for words.’
    A lot of my prayer these days is like that!
    May you be filled to overflowing this Pentecost.
    Love and Blessings +

    • Caroline, thank you for highlighting those beautiful words. Now, I will be blessed by them too. It’s so interesting how in prayer, and especially in Scripture, there is so much to mine…and wonderful that we can share with and help others to be inspired by what God speaks to our hearts.

      I’ve been out of town and my computer was in the shop (horrors!) They did manage to fix it; the screen was becoming detached from the keyboard…among other things. I’m looking forward to getting caught up on reading my favorite blogs.

      You are deeply in my prayers, and may your too receive a tremendous outpouring of the Holy Spirit tomorrow….and at every moment! Love you xoxo

      • Connie, just read it. Love the simplicity of letting the Spirit lead us. Why are we (I) always trying to do everything ourselves? No wonder our Lord gives us little children as our example. 🙂

  2. This is a new one to me. I’m printing it so I can pray it today. Thanks!

    By the way, I have your post on the Turtledove scheduled for Tuesday. I’m planning to put the whole thing at CSBN, rather than linking back here, because I suspect there are readers who are experiencing something similar and need to know they’re not alone.

    Happy Pentecost!

    • Connie, Blessed Pentecost! I have my Carmelite monthly meeting today as well, and our May Crowning, so I’m looking forward to a beautiful Feast Day. Wishing you the same!

      Feel free to use the “turtledove” post anyway you like. I hope to write a follow-up to that post at some point, as I don’t want to discourage people, but give them hope. I’d like to share some things I’ve learned during this period, which still persists. God bless you, Connie!

Your thoughts?

