Eucharistic Miracle in Argentina

The following Eucharistic Miracle occurred in Buenos Aires when  Pope Francis was Auxiliary Bishop under Cardinal Quarracino:

Eucharistic Miracle in Buenos Aires

miracle

The weakening of faith in the real presence of the Risen Christ in the Eucharist is one of the most significant aspects of the current spiritual crisis. Jesus wants to strengthen our faith in His Eucharistic presence. That is why from time to time in the history of the Catholic Church He gives us signs–Eucharistic miracles that clearly underscore the fact that He, the Risen Lord Himself in the mystery of His Divinity and glorified humanity, is truly present in the Eucharist. The most recent Eucharistic miracle recognized by the Church authorities occurred in 1996 in the capital of Argentina–Buenos Aires.

A consecrated Host becomes flesh and blood

At seven o’clock in the evening on August 18, 1996, Fr. Alejandro Pezet was saying Holy Mass at a Catholic church in the commercial center of Buenos Aires. As he was finishing distributing Holy Communion, a woman came up to tell him that she had found a discarded host on a candleholder at the back of the church. On going to the spot indicated, Fr. Alejandro saw the defiled Host. Since he was unable to consume it, he placed it in a container of water and put it away in the tabernacle of the chapel of the Blessed Sacrament.
On Monday, August 26, upon opening the tabernacle, he saw to his amazement that the Host had turned into a bloody substance. He informed Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio, who gave instructions that the Host be professionally photographed. The photos were taken on September 6. They clearly show that the Host, which had become a fragment of bloodied flesh, had grown significantly in size. For several years the Host remained in the tabernacle, the whole affair being kept a strict secret. Since the Host suffered no visible decomposition, Cardinal Bergoglio decided to have it scientifically analyzed.
On October 5, 1999, in the presence of the Cardinal’s representatives, Dr. Castanon took a sample of the bloody fragment and sent it to New York for analysis. Since he did not wish to prejudice the study, he purposely did not inform the team of scientists of its provenance. One of these scientists was Dr. Frederic Zugiba, the well-known cardiologist and forensic pathologist. He determined that the analyzed substance was real flesh and blood containing human DNA. Zugiba testified that, “the analyzed material is a fragment of the heart muscle found in the wall of the left ventricle close to the valves. This muscle is responsible for the contraction of the heart. It should be borne in mind that the left cardiac ventricle pumps blood to all parts of the body. The heart muscle is in an inflammatory condition and contains a large number of white blood cells. This indicates that the heart was alive at the time the sample was taken. It is my contention that the heart was alive, since white blood cells die outside a living organism. They require a living organism to sustain them. Thus, their presence indicates that the heart was alive when the sample was taken. What is more, these white blood cells had penetrated the tissue, which further indicates that the heart had been under severe stress, as if the owner had been beaten severely about the chest.”
Two Australians, journalist Mike Willesee and lawyer Ron Tesoriero, witnessed these tests. Knowing where sample had come from, they were dumbfounded by Dr. Zugiba’s testimony. Mike Willesee asked the scientist how long the white blood cells would have remained alive if they had come from a piece of human tissue, which had been kept in water. They would have ceased to exist in a matter of minutes, Dr. Zugiba replied. The journalist then told the doctor that the source of the sample had first been kept in ordinary water for a month and then for another three years in a container of distilled water; only then had the sample been taken for analysis. Dr. Zugiba’s was at a loss to account for this fact. There was no way of explaining it scientifically, he stated. Only then did Mike Willesee inform Dr. Zugiba that the analyzed sample came from a consecrated Host (white, unleavened bread) that had mysteriously turned into bloody human flesh. Amazed by this information, Dr. Zugiba replied, “How and why a consecrated Host would change its character and become living human flesh and blood will remain an inexplicable mystery to science—a mystery totally beyond her competence.”
Only faith in the extraordinary action of a God provides the reasonable answer—faith in a God, who wants to make us aware that He is truly present in the mystery of the Eucharist.
The Eucharistic miracle in Buenos Aires is an extraordinary sign attested to by science. Through it Jesus desires to arouse in us a lively faith in His real presence in the Eucharist. He reminds us that His presence is real, and not symbolic. Only with the eyes of faith do we see Him under appearance of the consecrated bread and wine. We do not see Him with our bodily eyes, since He is present in His glorified humanity. In the Eucharist Jesus sees and loves us and desires to save us.
19 thoughts on “Eucharistic Miracle in Argentina

  1. Patricia,

    Thank you for sharing this story! I hadn’t heard it before.

    I remember Mike Willesee’s conversion or reversion to his Catholic faith (I think). If I remember correctly he was accused of appearing on a current affairs program in a drunken state. Then the next time I heard of him, he was making documentaries about religious topics such as the one in this story. I watched a film he made about a woman who received the stigmata. Yes, through such miracles our faith is aroused and lives are changed.

    God bless!

    • Hi Sue…I’ve been napping for a few days 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by. So…you are familiar with Mike Willesee? I had to go back and read the article again to realize he was Australian. Sounds like he does interesting projects. I love the authentic Eucharistic Miracles. They are so inspiring. This one is well documented, and of course our current Holy Father was directly involved in having it investigated. This one reminds me of Lanciano, as both involve heart muscle…so like our Beloved Jesus. Will be over soon to see what you’ve been up to 🙂 Hugs!

  2. I did not know about this miracle Patricia, thank you for bringing it to our attention. I wonder where the Host is now and if it’s made available for adoration? And I wonder if the injury to the heart muscle occurred when the Sacred Host was defiled by the person who left It on a candlestick? When I can see straight (which is a bit of a challenge at the moment) I will click on the link you provided to read more. God bless you always
    Joyce

    • Dear Joyce…so sorry for such a delay in responding. I’m not quite sure how I came across this…just reading articles around the Internet, and it showed up somewhere. What is so interesting is that this miracle is similar to the very famous one in Lanciano, Italy, as both revealed heart muscle and in both cases, it was injured. Since Lanciano didn’t involve abuse of the Sacred Host, perhaps our Blessed Lord carries all of His Wounds within His Glorified Body. We know that the wounds of His hands and feet and side are there, because of His words to Thomas. Perhaps the damage to His Heart is still there as well. Something to think about…..

      Another interesting fact is that both Lanciano and this miracle, as well as the Shroud of Turin, all reveal type AB positive blood, which is consistent with a person from the Middle East at the time Jesus lived. The world is full of miracles, isn’t it? God is so good!

      So glad you are feeling better. I know when nothing works on a horrible headache, and you just have to wait it out. AWful!
      Love you xo

  3. Patrica, What an amazing miracle ! I’m so glad you shared this especially as the subject of faith in the Holy Eucharist as the true Body of Christ is still so hard for some Catholics. I love how the writer says, it’s “God, who wants to make us aware that He is truly present in the mystery of the Eucharist.” And that He desires to save us. What a needed message today and what a beautiful miracle to draw people to Him

    Love and Blessings +.

    • Hi Caroline…hope you are doing well. Yes, these Eucharistic Miracles are so amazing…especially since some of them have been subjected to scientific tests, and proved inexplicable. I’ve had the privilege of being in the Presence of two Eucharistic Miracles…one in Siena Italy, and one in a small town in Germany. There are many more though. Have you ever read Bob and Penny Lord’s books on this subject? Very interesting, and they include many pictures as well.

      This is the most recently approved one though….and our Holy Father was involved. Our Lord’s timing….so perfect.

      Love and hugs….xoxo

  4. I love hearing stories like this, Patricia. I remember watching the Mike Willesee documentary, a few years ago. I’m glad I saw it after my conversion because it wouldn’t have had the same impact if I had seen it before I became a Catholic. It’s so exciting that our current pope was a witness to this. Lanciano was awesome but to think this happened so recently is just amazing.

    Thank you for sharing this, Patricia.

    God bless:-)

    • Hi Vicky! So you saw the documentary? That’s wonderful! I don’t think we get Mike Willesee over here 🙂 I’ll have to check youtube…everything seems to end up there sooner or later.

      I know that Sue is a convert, and you too? I’d love to hear that story one day…of how both of you came into the Church. And you both sound like you’ve been Catholics forever…so in love with Our Lady, St. Therese, and all the devotions etc.

      Yes, it really is wonderful that this Miracle happened so recently. I read another article which stated that both the Buenos Aires and Lanciano Eucharistic Miracles are of heart muscle which has been damaged, and both are the same blood type. Amazing!

      I’ve got some catching up to do on my favorite blogs…so I’ll be by soon. God bless you, Vicky!

      • I always attend the Sunday mass at St. Therese Parish Church in Iloilo City, Philippines and I always receive the Eucharist. Last May 2013, I think, one of St. Therese’s relic visited the city and I took time to see the container. I also have the rose petals and leaves which was given to us during the visit. I am keeping it with me always for guidance. 😀

        • Hi Bembo. Thank you for commenting on my blog. You sound like someone who loves St. Therese very much. Isn’t she wonderful? She’s my favorite Saint. It sounds like you have some third class relics with the rose petals and leaves. I’m guessing they were touched to her relics which were brought to your city. May she always pray for you and watch over you. God bless you!

          • Hello Pat,

            Thank you for taking notice to my comment. I appreciate it. I happen to reside very close to St. Therese church that is why I am able to be there always to attend the Sunday mass as often as I have the chance. I am not sure whether the petals and leaves touched the relics, but what I consider the most is that I got it at the time of its visit. Its no longer ordinary objects for me anymore. I has part on it some sort or divinity. I am treasuring it as it reminds me of her and her relationship with the Father and Jesus.

            c”,)

    • Hi Mary Clancy 🙂 I was thinking about TTWA’s the other day, and I always imagine that you were a lot like her. I think hearing about your Red Zinger tea clinched it for me LOL.

      Yes, it really is amazing! And, now that we have Pope Francis, I hope that more people will find out about the Miracle, and maybe make pilgrimages there. Hugs to you dear Nancy!

  5. You know, I had heard of this after he became elected Pope. But it was from a person who had read about it. I hadn’t read the story about it or knew when it had happened. You would think when that happened it should have been breaking news in the media. A miracle of such wonder and grace should have been heard around the world.

    • Noreen, I’m so sorry to be this late in responding. Please forgive me. Your comment was in the middle of some addressing a more recent post, and I just lost track of it for a while.

      Thank you so much for stopping by. You are in my “end abortion” decade of my rosary each day.
      Oh, how I wish such things as the Miracle would be breaking news!!! The media bias is so frustrating. I can’t believe how little they cover the Gosnell trial…actually FOX is about the only network which does.

      At least when Our Lord returns someday, HE won’t need the media to make that known!!! Love you, Noreen. God bless you and your work for the unborn. xo

  6. I enjoyed reading the good news of this miracle, revealing the presence of our Lord amongst us, that eyes can see and ears can hear that truly he exists, that we may be saved. Praise God always.

    • Hi Joseph. Thank you for commenting. Yes, such a blessing to have our Eucharistic Jesus among us always! And…how kind of Him to sometimes even give us miracles associated with the Holy Eucharist. This one is especially interesting now since our deal Pope Francis was involved. Have you heard of the very recent Eucharisitc Miracle which occurred in Mexico? It happened only a month or so ago. You can probably find it if you do a search on the Internet. I hope to write a post about it in the near future. I’m sure it is still being investigated, but I read about it from some reliable sources. Peace be with you always.

Your thoughts?

