“The beatitude of faith…..”

thomasagain

I love today’s gospel.  Even when I was a child, I was so delighted to hear those beautiful words Jesus spoke to Thomas:  Blessed are those who have not seen and yet believe.

“That’s me!” I would inwardly exclaim.  And so it is, and hopefully, it is you too!

Our Holy Father Francis focused on these words from the gospel in his Regina Caeli message, on the Feast of Divine Mercy, in Rome today.  He too seemed to say, “That’s me!”

poperegina
Vatican City, Apr 7, 2013 / 07:12 am (CNA/EWTN News).- On the Feast of Divine Mercy, Pope Francis emphasized that when Jesus said “blessed are those who do not see and yet believe,” he was also referring to those who believed the testimony of the Apostles and everyone today who hears the witness of Christians and believes.

“And who were they who believed without seeing? Other disciples, men and women of Jerusalem that, while they did not meet the resurrected Jesus, believed in the testimony of the Apostles and the women,” Pope Francis said April 7 before a crowd of around 100,000 people.

The Pope made his remarks before praying the Regina Caeli from the window of the papal apartment that overlooks St. Peter’s Square.

He focused on the Gospel reading for today, which recalls the encounter between St. Thomas and Jesus after the resurrection.

When he first heard the news of the resurrection, the Pope noted that Thomas responded, “If I do not see and do not touch, I will not believe.”

But eight days later, Jesus appeared to the Apostles in the upper room and invited Thomas to look at his wounds, to touch them, and he exclaimed: “My Lord my God.”

“Jesus replied, ‘because you have seen me, you have believed: blessed are they that have not seen and yet have believed.’”

“This is a very important word on faith,” Pope Francis stated, adding that “we can call it the beatitude of faith.”

“At all times and in all places are blessed are those who, through the Word of God proclaimed in Church and witnessed by Christians, believe that Jesus Christ is the love of God incarnate, Mercy incarnate.

“And this is true for each of us!” he exclaimed.

Source: http://www.catholicnewsagency.com/news/pope-those-who-believe-without-seeing-includes-us/

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Today is my dad’s birthday. He passed away in 2008 at the age of 93. I would be most grateful to anyone who offers a prayer for the repose of his soul. And, I will remember all of you at Mass today. Thank you!

9 thoughts on ““The beatitude of faith…..”

  1. Patricia,
    Thank you for sharing Pope Francis’ message for today. I love listening to what this Pope has to say. I also love how your post connected today’s Gospel and the feast of Divine Mercy. We can learn a lot from Thomas and find great peace and hope in Our Lord’s beatitude of faith.
    Have a happy and blessed Mercy Sunday!
    PS: I will keep the repose of your Dad’s soul in my prayers today.

    • Karin, thank you so much for your prayers for my Dad xoxo
      I loved how Pope Francis called our belief (without seeing), a “beatitude of faith.” Yes, he does say such wonderful things! I need to look up his homily for Divine Mercy Sunday a little later. Your comment about connecting today’s gospel with the Feast reminded me that in each, Jesus’ side is opened. Thomas touched that precious Wound, and we are bathed in the Mercy which poured forth from it.

      We had a beautiful Divine Mercy Mass at 3pm in our parish. One of the things our pastor mentioned was that the Apostle John, may have been standing near enough for the Blood and Water which gushed forth from the side of Jesus to pour out upon Him…like depicted in The Passion of the Christ. I am astounded by such a thought…and yet, Our Lord says that He pours this Blood and Water upon us too!

      What a beautiful Feast! Hope your day was filled with His Love! Blessings always…..and hugs.

  2. Thank you for the lovely photos and words from Pope Francis. We live in hope that we are those “blessed” ones.

    Happy Easter, Patricia, and happy Dad’s birthday. Prayers have been prayed for the repose of his soul.
    In joy,
    Cindy

    • Hi Cindy. Happy Feast of Divine Mercy! Thank you so much for your precious prayers for my dad. He and my mom died 13 days apart. I still miss them so very much, and truly hope they are both celebrating this beautiful day in Heaven.

      I’ve been reading your book, and it’s just wonderful! I stayed up entirely too late one night reading it, and would probably have gotten halfway through on that first read, except I had fever and a horrible sore throat. But, I hated to put it down and go to bed. I was out of town this weekend, and brought it with me and snuck in a few pages when I could. It’s really beautifully done, Cindy, and such a mother’s tribute to her son. I’m falling in love with Tim as I read. God bless him. He is in my prayers as well.

      Just wish I could hug you! Your faith and your family are beautiful! xoxo

  3. Patricia, I will of course remember your father in a prayer for the repose of his soul…His Happy Birthday in Heaven must be amazing..I know how you must miss him.
    Prayers and Blessings +

  4. Hi Patricia, I am just getting around to reading some of my favorite blogs now so I did not see your note about your beloved dad until just now. Certainly I will pray for the repose of the souls of both your parents. I offered any indulgence gained today for a soul in Purgatory who most needs it, known of course only to Jesus. I love to think that one day, when this life is over, we shall meet the souls for whom our prayers won release. And that should we merit Purgatory, they, too, will pray for us.

    In his sermon today, our visiting priest reminded us that Jesus knows that sometimes belief happens in stages. The disciples didn’t believe Mary Magdalene at first. Jesus had to appear to them. Thomas did not believe the disciples. When the Lord appeared to him, it did not take long for Thomas to confess: “My Lord and my God! So even though Thomas became the poster child for doubters, the truth is he was only following in the example of the other apostles.

    Hope you had a blessed Divine Mercy Sunday!
    Love and prayers,
    Joyce

    • Joyce, many thanks for the prayers for my dear parents. I do so hope they are in Heaven, but it’s always best to keep on praying! I’m trying to recruit people to do that for me when my times comes. 🙂

      I love to think that one day we will meet all of the souls we have prayed for. I’m sure if they get to Heaven before we do that they will pray for us. It’s so lovely to pray for strangers…like a wonderful secret. Won’t it be delightful to find out who prayed for us? I’m sure there will be lots of people we have never met in that group.

      That’s so interesting what your priest said in his sermon about belief happening in stages. It sort of reminds me of what Pope Francis said about how patient and merciful Jesus is…how he didn’t rebuke Thomas for not believing, but patiently waited a week, and then appeared to him and allowed himm to see and touch His Wounds. I need to hear about this patience and mercy of our good Jesus often.

      It’s good to keep the “stages” idea in mind, when it comes to our children…and be grateful for every step they take toward the Lord.

      Blessings and hugs, dear Joyce!

  5. Patricia,

    I am praying for your parents, may their souls rest in peace. I have spent the day mentally in the cemetery, having peaceful thoughts full of hope. Just imagine when we are all reunited!

    God bless!

    • Sue, thank you so much for praying for my parents. I appreciate your kindness so much. I read your cemetery post, and it was very touching. That’s interesting how you spent the day mentally in the cemetery. Sometimes when I drive past a cemetery, I too think about the Last Day, and how amazing it will be when everyone is resurrected. I wonder what we will be wearing 🙂 It seems a good idea to be buried close to family, so that we can immediately see one another…if God so arranges the resurrection that way. It’s all a great mystery.

      I think of all those people in the cemetery who once walked the earth and had lives like we do and people they loved and who loved them. And I always think…life is so short. We should remember the dead in our prayers, shouldn’t we? So many are probably forgotten.

      Gee, what a morbid response to your very kind comment…LOL. Forgive me! xoxo

Your thoughts?

