Greetings from the attic……

sick4

Hi everyone….thanks for your wonderful, insightful and often amusing comments on my last post!  I look forward to responding to each one, but it may take me a day or two.

I am once more the crazy wife hidden in the attic (remember Bertha in Jane Eyre?)

Okay, so I’m not really in the attic….or as crazy as Bertha, but I am sequestered upstairs, sick again since Sunday, while workmen are downstairs, installing new flooring.

(Regular readers of this blog may remember that my January bout with shingles similarly coincided with the arrival of a painting crew, whose work spanned the better part of two weeks, during which time I and my “pizza” face holed up in whichever bedroom wasn’t currently being painted.)

This time around, I have been completely unseen and unknown by the installation crew, but my dear husband makes several trips up the stairs each day, carrying a tray of Sprite, toast, etc….indicating that there is life, however mysterious, above the first floor.

During the past week, a virulent strain of the stomach flu has been moving throughout my area, knocking out more than a few people I know.  My dear sister was still on her feet yesterday when she reported that she had been recruited by a stricken friend to drop off a supply of clear liquids at their front door.

Later, in the course of her job, she had to visit an Urgent Care clinic, where the treatment rooms were filled with people receiving IV fluids to treat their dehydration.

This morning, I awoke to a text message from her, reporting that she too had been visited by the virus in the middle of the night.

As for me, my misery began Sunday morning, and I lived on popsicles and Sprite for two days.  Yesterday and today, I have been able to add a few bites of solid food, but I doubt I will be up and about for a day or two yet.  I probably should have been one of those who received IV fluids, but I felt too sick to even imagine leaving the house.

Perhaps I should have given up chocolate for Lent… like some of Joyce’s friends.  Instead, it seems I have given up all food…at least for a few days 🙂   I have lost three pounds, but I do not recommend this method of weight loss.

On the plus side, I have been listening to Catholic radio and keeping up with what is happening in Rome, as the conclave approaches.  And, I have at least had something to offer up in union with the prayers and sacrifices of everyone else, that God will bless us with a truly holy and wise pope.

I am thinking of all of you, enjoying your comments and praying for you.  Please pray for me too!  I hope to return soon.

And…do enjoy something yummy for dinner tonight!  🙂

12 thoughts on “Greetings from the attic……

  1. It’s been a rough winter for you, Patricia. I hope you feel better soon! (I won’t tell you about the delicious dinner we are having tonight – I’m not that cruel 🙂 God bless!

    • Mary, I’m ready for spring, summer, anything…. 🙂 There has got to be a way out of this! Maybe no more house renovations? 🙂
      Ahhh, you couldn’t tempt me with your dinner…not yet anyway. (But your company, always!) I had the Iron Chef on TV Sunday night, and just the sight of all that food made me turn my head and I had to change the channel. But I am up for a nice dish of mashed potatoes tonight…yum! Hugs to you, but only when I’m completely well xoxo

  2. Patricia,

    I’m sorry you aren’t well again. You certainly don’t have to go looking for any Lenten penances, do you? They are arriving one after the other.

    I hope you feel better soon. And don’t go burning any houses down while you are up there in your attic!

    God bless, with love and prayers xx

    • Sue, I’ve missed you and your blog! I wonder what mischief you are up to over there since my last visit 🙂 Maybe I’ll take a peek a little later. I told my husband that he can know for sure that I’m not feigning being sick by the fact that my computer stays off most of the day….as does the television, and except for for an occasional text from my sister, I am disconnected from the phone. I think he’s seriously worried 🙂

      Thank you so much for your love and prayers. Yes, I think next Lent, I’ll try to beat the Lord to assigning me a penance. Actually, He started a bit early this year…like back in January! This has been an unusual stretch for me. I’m used to frequent migraines, but I’m usually pretty healthy otherwise.

      Don’t worry about my setting the attic on fire…I don’t have the energy to go downstairs for the matches 🙂 What I really want to do is wash my hair! Eeeek! You should see it! I’m resting up right now to tackle that job. Love you my friend…thanks for the kind words. xo

  3. Ha! Before I even knew of your latest challenge, I made chicken soup for dinner. I hope the Virus from Hell leaves you soon. No chocolate here today, “silverbells” or otherwise 🙂

    Feel better!
    xoxo

    • Oh Joyce, homemade chicken soup! And here I am with Lipton’s! I should have had you FedEx me some 🙂 Chicken soup is on my very short list of current edibles. It’s amazing how little food you can survive on when your digestive tract is out of whack. I should be starving. So, is it exceptional chicken soup? How about a recipe?

      That was funny about the silverbells. Aren’t regional differences interesting? When I was growing up, I thought “soda” was the stuff adults sometimes added to their alcoholic drinks. It was much later that I learned that in other parts of the country, “sodas” were what we called “soft drinks.” And of course, when I moved to other states, no one knew what I was talking about 🙂 So, now I think I use both terms, depending on where I happen to be.

      I love Hershey’s kisses, but you couldn’t pay me to eat one now 🙂 xo

  4. Wow, my daughters would say, “Hey mom, this is a tough way to loose weight!”. For them everything revolves around a scale!

    But in all sincereity, I hope you heal quickly! My rosary will include you tonight! God bless you always…

    • Lisa…thank you so much for including me in your rosary. It was a comfort to remember that the other night, after I read your comment.

      I don’t think your daughters would go for this diet! 🙂 It truly is a “tough” way to lose weight! If they really would like to try it, tell them to come down to Louisiana. 🙂 My sister and about 5 of her co-workers have it, as well as a few other assorted people we know. It lasts for days..not like the usual 24 hour bug. Love to you, Lisa, and thanks again for the prayers xo

  5. Patricia, Oh my goodness, Jane Eyre and the attic !.LOL What a winter this has been…
    Now, mashed potatoes ..that would be harder than chocolate for me to give up– I love them.
    You’ll be in my prayers tonight..
    Blessings always and + xxoo

    • Caroline, this is my last night “up here.” Remembering Jane Eyre made me laugh…after it happened to me twice with people working in the house, and my husband carrying trays up the stairs. (We don’t have servants, like in the movie! 🙂 And, my husband is the type who would not have given the workmen a clue that I was up here LOL. Things are looking up. I’ve now branched out to broiled fish. Thank you so much for your prayers. This has been a hard one to get over. I rarely stay in bed when sick, but really had to for most of this week. Is it summer in Florida yet? We have been having our coldest weather of the winter this month! How crazy is that? But, I’ve enjoyed being up here with the window open, and hearing the sweet little birds every morning and most of the day. I’ve watched all the Rome coverage on EWTN. It’s very exciting, and like everyone else, I’m praying hard for the conclave. It shouldn’t be too long before we have a new “papa.” I have no idea who it might be. I love that all the cardinals have been “adopted.” I think today they said well over 400,000 people had participated, and I assume it’s still growing. Well, my brain is still on the old time, but I’d better get some sleep because the clock says something else 🙂 Love you, Caroline..thanks again for your prayers.

    • Connie, I’m not sure what God is doing, but it has definitely been a very strange few months! Interestingly, my sister has been going through something similar..different “ailments” though 🙂 Although, unfortunately, she is sharing this one right now. Thank you so much for your prayers. I do need a break..I think! But, my dear husband needs one even more. He stays well, but he has to look after me and take care of everything else at the same time, including the house renovations and all that has entailed with moving stuff all over the place, etc. Poor guy is exhausted. Thank you so much for your prayers, Connie. God bless you!

Your thoughts?

