Prayer request….the tyranny of pain

My friends, I have a prayer request.  This week has been quite a challenge, so please forgive me for not even being able to respond to some of your kind comments.

I started with an earache Sunday night, and with the help of some prescription ear drops, it seemed much better by Tuesday.  That was the day when I accidentally sliced open my right pinky finger…just as I was about to leave for Tuesday adoration.  I had to go to Urgent Care for stitches instead of spending those precious hours with Jesus.

I found myself joking about all of the mishaps, which included having to relocate practically everything in the house and stash only a few necessary items in the one room we can really use because painters arrived yesterday to paint all of the interior rooms.

I thought my worst problem would be dealing with the paint fumes versus my chronic migraines.  But all of that is minor compared to the pain which has returned and spread from my ear to almost the entire right side of my face.  It started hitting me like a knife yesterday, and I thought all I needed to do was to keep using my ear drops.  But, the pain kept me up all night last night.  I talked myself out of seeing a doctor today because the rain was pouring…ten inches in the last couple of days.  And…I’m always one to think things will get better in “just one more day.”

But, the pain is now excruciating and truly disabling.  I wasn’t able to do much of anything today, and nothing at all tonight.  This is unlike any earache I have ever had…it hurts even to touch my hair.

Please pray that I can see my doctor tomorrow, and that he will know what is going on with me.  Since I am on a strong antibiotic for the injured finger, the problem with my ear must be more than just a simple infection.

Please forgive me for coming here with my tale of woe.  I know that many who will read this are suffering much greater problems.  But, this pain frightens me, and I’m too tired to really be brave enough not to ask for your prayers.

As I wake up over and over throughout the night, please know that I offer the pain up for those of you who have asked for my prayers.  The pain has been my only prayer for the past two days.

Thank you in advance for your prayers!  I love you dearly, my friends.

26 thoughts on “Prayer request….the tyranny of pain

  1. Patricia,

    I am so sorry! I noticed your absence from your blog. What a difficult week you are having. Of course I shall pray for you. I hope the doctor will find out the problem and relieve your pain.

    With prayers and love. May God bless you. I hope you will soon be back here smiling, all healed.

    • Hi Sue! Thank you so much for your prayers! Yes, it’s been a strange week. One thing after another, and all occuring in the middle of my upside down house. It looks like one of those TV reality shows around here at the moment. 🙂
      I was so touched this morning when I quickly checked my blog (from my secure hideout in our bedroom –only place I can take refuge from the painters.) It was so comforting to know that you, and several other friends were praying for me. Hey, who says blogging is a waste of time? It’s a great way to meet some of the most awesome people you will ever know.

      I am very blessed by your friendship…and the fact that you are one of the few people who are still awake when I am — even if on a different day 🙂
      I felt a little better this morning, but am so glad I saw the doctor this afternoon, because the knife pain started coming back tonight. He prescribed stronger ear drops and even something for pain, so hopefully I will be feeling much better in a few days. He did indeed see lots of swelling and inflammation in my ear, and said that this also caused the pain I was experiencing in other areas on my face and head. The nerves refer pain that way.

      So Sue, thank you again for your most welcome prayers…and for caring enough to take time to drop a note. Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

      • Patricia,

        “who says blogging is a waste of time? ” It definitely isn’t! We both seem to be onine at similar times because you are such a night owl! I was glad I saw your post and could pray. So pleased you are feeling a lot better.

        God bless!

        • “who says blogging is a waste of time?” If I tell you, are you going to beat them up? 🙂 Perhaps my words were too carelessly chosen. But I do know that some of my favorite bloggers get discouraged at times, and wonder if they should even continue. But I think that the “community” and friendships formed through blogging really are the unexpected gift. When I go on vacation, I truly miss all of you, and when I wake up in the middle of the night, I pray for you along with my other friends and family.

          What a gift from God to meet so many delightful, like minded people! I hope to always maintain my blog, no matter how dry my well may be…just to stay in touch with all of you. HUGS!

          That is funny….you and I up at the same time on different days…cracks me up. 🙂 I do need to keep better hours, but have always loved the quiet of night.

          And Sue, keep the prayers going for me. Saw the doctor today because my rash was so much worse, and my diagnosis was correct. I have shingles on the right side of my face, around my eye and even on my scalp. I have to see an opthomalogist tomorrow to make sure it isn’t actually in my eye. And I have a whole new bunch of meds to take. It’s painful and can have long lasting effects. Prayers much appreciated xo

          • Patricia,

            I quoted your words about blogging being a waste of time because I wrote a post recently called “Why Blogging ISN’T a waste of time”!!! I think we all get discouraged at one time or another, a common feeling. For me this happens when I am overtired, and then I just feel like pressing ‘delete’ and retreating off into my own little space. Like you, I would miss the community if I did that. It has become very important to me. Yes, like minded friends, people who care about each other.

            Patricia, of course I will keep praying. We are rather funny in our family. Once we start praying for someone, we can’t seem to stop. Even if a particular intention is answered, everyone still needs prayers, and so we don’t feel right not praying for that person any more. You will probably be in our intentions forever! Our list of intentions gets longer and longer… but that’s okay. There are lots of us to share the praying!!

            I am so sorry you are having such problems at the moment. I’ve never had shingles but I can imagine how awful it is. I hope it’s not in your eye. Is it affecting your sight?

            I wonder if you are still up. I am an early bird. At the moment it is 10.40 am. It’s still holidays so I am pottering about: hanging washing, reading the catechism, chatting to you!!!

            God bless!

          • Sue, as much as my face and eye are hurting right now, I’m still laughing because I have found a kindred spirit..who writes comments in paragraphs, and keeps the conversation going back and forth. I’m so happy that I’m not the only one! I’ve often felt strange seeing others leave nice succinct comments…compared to mine. So glad we both like to chat 🙂

            That’s awesome that once someone is on your prayer list, they get to stay forever… Yay! I know what you mean about feeling bad about not praying for them anymore. On my “prayer intentions” page, I at first told people I would clear it at the end of the year, and then start over. But, I could’t do it. Like you, it seemed wrong to just drop them. I once wrote a post called “Prayer is not Pie.” It’s about how God isn’t stingy and we don’t have to worry that if we divide up our prayers among lots of people, each will get a less desirable result..like a tiny piece of pie. We humans can be so foolish at times. God is so infinitely generous! Anyway, I’m so glad I’m IN with the Elvis clan! 😉

            I’m kicking myself right now, because my doctor suggested I take the shingles vaccine last year, and I told him I’d think about it. Well, here I am “thinking about it”….a lot! Yes, it is all around my eye, and that is such a sensitive area, and I’m concerned. Very glad I’ll be seeing the opthamologist tomorrow. So far, no vision problems, but it’s very uncomfortable.

            Yes, I’m still up. We are just getting ready to eat dinner, prepared by my sweet husband. It’s only about 8:30pm here right now. I live in Central Standard Time.

            I want to head over and read what you had to say about why blogging isn’t a waste of time.

            Your family’s prayers will be such a comfort to me during this illness which may last several weeks…and when I awake during the night, you will be in my prayers too….not just then, but you get the idea 🙂 Love….

  2. Oh, Patricia! I will pray right now. I do hope you see a doctor tomorrow and that the Holy Spirit will magnify his gifts and inspire him to accurately diagnose and treat your ailment. You sound like you should go to an ER though versus waiting for doctor’s hours. Are you using a hot water bottle/heating pad for the pain? I love you and pray for The Lord to have mercy and bring you a respite very soon. Love, Colleen

    • Colleen, I should have known that you’d still be awake when I put up my post late last night 🙂 (You may want to apply to join the NONS…see Nancy about that!)
      Yes, I did sleep with both a heating pad and some of those Therma Care Pads…which are great, but I actually got burns on my back and shoulders from using the pads too long and sleeping with them. Nothing serious. But, the heat feels so good when you hurt. I’m sure your prayers helped me get through the night. I was up a few times, but managed to fall back asleep pretty quickly. I slept in and let my husband deal with all the workmen, etc. I saw the doctor this afternoon, and was so relieved that he knew exactly what I was experiencing, and could see what was causing it when he examined my ear. I was so relieved, because I had a similar earache years ago, and that doctor could not find a thing “wrong.” She gave me a script for some ear drops, which did help, but it was frustrating that she could not find a cause for the pain.

      Although I refused a cortisone shot today, I do have some stronger meds, so hopefully I’ll soon be as good as new…or at least as before 🙂 Love you!

  3. Oh Patricia…yes, it sounds like you’ve had a brutal week. I’ll pray for you right now, my friend. (And I’m asking Jesus to send a big hug from me to you because it sounds like you need one right now.)

    Love,
    Mary

    • I got that hug, Mary 🙂 Thank you, and thanks so much for your prayers. Yes, it has been one crazy week! I can’t help but wonder if this has something to do with my going on retreat in two weeks. Every year, there seems to be something popping up to disturb that time of preparation, or even prevent me from going on the retreat at all. One year, my dad was in the hospital, and the next one, I got a week long migraine and had to miss the entire four day retreat. It’s always something. I know I’m not the only one who experiences these things. I’m just betting you know all about it. I’m going to amp up the prayers to St. Michael and all the holy angels, and Our Lady as well. This is a silent retreat with TLM priests who are wholly devoted to Our Eucharistic Lord, His Passion, Our Lady, and they teach much on spiritual warfare….we all bring salt and water for them to bless. You can bet I’ll be taking you and all of our dear other blog friends in my heart on that retreat…to thank God for your friendship and prayers, and to offer prayers for all of your intentions. Love you too, Mary!

    • Karin, thank you so much! Earaches are among the worst! They remind me of really bad toothaches. I was thinking about all the little kids who get earaches, and I just can’t imagine little ones having so much pain. I can tell you; I wanted to cry too! Feeling much better tonight! Thanks so much for stopping by and caring enough to drop a note. You guys are all so awesome! Have a most blessed weekend! xo

    • Nancy, a whole day? No wonder I feel so much better! After dragging around for days, I can feel my strength coming back again…and it’s an awesome feeling. I always love that “turn” when you have been sick..like a fever breaking, etc. It’s such a miracle the way our bodies almost always bounce back again, and you really notice the moment or at least the hour when it happens. Thank You God! We are–indeed–fearfully and wonderfully made. I almost didn’t write that post, but I felt so desperate last night. I’m so glad I did request prayers. I just wish I could hug all of you precious people…someday I will! Love and thanks to you, dear Nancy.

  4. Patricia, keep in mind different antibiotics are prescribed depending on what is infected. For example your finger oral antibiotic wouldn’t help a soft organ infection and would get different Ntibiotic and different dosage. Hope you made it to the doctor today or last night!

    • Colleen, I wasn’t too up on this. I only got my MD off of the Internet 🙂 My sister and I joke about that all the time, because we look up every med, every diagnosis, etc., that we get…and then some. She, at least has a BSN. I’m a total rogue out here, but I like being in charge of my own body when it comes to healthcare. I really thought the Augmentin prescribed for my finger was powerful enough to knock out an earache. Apparently not. Well, these new drops sound more powerful than the ones I was using before. You use ten drops at a time. My ear, face, etc., isn’t hurting at all right now. What a relief! Thank you for caring so much…you are such a sweetheart. BTW, do you attend Annunciation Church? On Sunday mornings, I listen to this radio program about the Eastern rites of the Church, and they play beautiful choir music from Annunciation Church of the Byzantine Rite, and it’s located somewhere in Illinois. Of course, I immediately thought of you. 🙂 xoxo

      • Patricia,

        “I only got my MD off of the Internet” I had to smile. I went to the doctor’s with my daughter, and the vet (with the cat) and both asked me what was wrong….So I said, “Well, I looked everything up on the Internet and I think the problem is… ” Turns out I was right but I felt like saying “I don’t know what’s wrong that’s why I came to see you!”

        • Sue, I had read your comment before seeing the doctor today. When I filled out their intake sheet, where they ask why you are there, I wrote: Possible shingles in right side of face and right eye.

          When the doctor came in, he laughingly said, “I hear you already have a diagnosis.” I told him that I had consulted with my sister, a registered nurse, but that I would defer to his decision 🙂 And, we were right! We almost always are. And I remembered your comment and chuckled to myself.

          I have just completed looking up all of my medications and putting them through Drug Interaction Checker.
          Glad to know I have a fellow colleague out there. We may have to do a consult some time LOL!

    • Caroline, you aren’t late. I knew your prayers would be with me ASAP. I just took that for granted, cause I know you. Pain is awful. I’ve thought a lot about that this week…not that my situation can even compare to what so many suffer every day of their lives. But, when my finger accidentally got ripped by my cat’s claw, it really hurt. It was just a small area, although it needed stitches. But I thought of Jesus and His wounds..no one to clean them and apply healing medicine and close them with stitches…and His whole Body was covered from head to toe with lacerations. What could that have felt like? Me with my little wound on my little finger and being distracted by that pain….and Jesus covered in ripped flesh, to say nothing of the nails. It’s an unbearable thought. I so often forget the pain He endured for me.

      Thank you so much for caring, and for your loving prayers. We have our own prayer group here. Isn’t it wonderful? God is Good!
      Love you, dear friend!

  5. Will most definitely offer prayers for your intention Patricia, but please be careful with this problem. I developed a very painful earache a few months after my son was born (18 years ago) and wound up in the hospital with strep A septicemia, a life-threatening infection. If your face starts to redden or swell, call your doctor right away. Hate to be an alarmist but better cautious than sorry. Hopefully, you’re on the mend by the time you read this. God bless. Joyce

    • Joyce, thank you so much for sharing that. I’m feeling much better, now, but I will keep an eye out for any changes. I was starting to really worry last night, because it was my worst night since Sunday when this all started. I couldn’t understand why I wasn’t getting better, as I always did before with this type of earache. And I was especially frightened by the pain moving all over the right side of my face, etc.

      I’m very glad I saw the doctor and got a diagnosis. The ear canal is swollen and inflamed…so at least I know there is something in there causing the pain. He didn’t think the drops I had were strong enough, so now I have new ones, which
      hopefully will knock this out. The doctor also said the other pain I was experiencing was likely related to nerves in the area which were being affected by the pressure.

      My goodness, that’s awful what happened to you. I know septicemia is very dangerous. That must have really been frightening. Who would imagine that an earache could cause something life threatening like that. It’s really amazing that most of us manage to make it through life pretty well, in spite of all the possibilities out there. (My husband is a fan of mystery diagnosis 🙂

      So glad you are back, dear Joyce. Have been reading your wonderful posts, but haven’t had much time to comment this week. You changed your title, and I think you have changed too…..as in going deeper with the Lord. Looking forward to all you have to share! It’s great seeing people popping over to my blog from yours again! Last year, you were my number one “referrer.” 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by dear Joyce! Big hugs to you!!!

    • Noreen, thank you so much for your prayers! Yes, I did get to see the doctor, and he prescribed some stronger ear drops and something for pain. I’m feeling much better tonight…although I think it will be a few days before I’m totally over this. I was feeling pretty desperate last night….as you can tell from my post 🙂 But you and so many others have been so very kind, and so generous with your prayers that it has truly lifted my spirits. God bless you…thank you for caring enough to comment and to pray for me.

      BTW, I think you might be able to rent the movie A Time for Miracles. I think I rented it years ago. I have since bought the DVD through Amazon. Speaking of movies, have you seen The Trouble with Angels? That seems to be the all time favorite of many of our blog friends…..we are almost in a fan club for the heroine, Mary Clancy 🙂 So, if you can find that one, check it out…really fun and also inspiring. Love to you, Noreen…have a great weekend.

  6. Bonjour,

    I’m not catholic, but I try to photograph the church, mostly of them that I cross, and to learn about their histories. I’m Lutherian, baptized in Sweden, but I love the orthodox church, especially services in russian, magnifique. And yes, I speak russian. I should move to Russia… On my photo blog a lot of catholic churches of France. I did a photo job for the Vatican this christmas here in Paris.

    For me it’s more about history through the architecture. Sociology is my studies and I try to see how church evolued… About the daily life…

    Que Dieu vous bénisse

    • Bonjour, Maria. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving your lovely comment. I will have to come see your beautiful pictures of churches at your blog. I have been to Europe several times, and the churches are so magnificent. Do you have a favorite one?

      I’m afraid I only speak English. How wonderful that you speak several languages, including English.

      I hope you visit me here again. God bless you always!

      Patricia

Your thoughts?

