A voice that speaks of peace……

On this day of memories of the attack on our beloved country, the following Psalm seemed so appropriate as I prayed Morning Prayer. It is always amazing how the LORD provides so much food at just the perfect moment. And in praying this Psalm, I thought not only of 9/11, but also of the current state of our nation as we enter the approaching elections. I truly believe that nothing will go well for us in the economy, jobs, energy, etc., until we repent of our moral failings. Many Americans dismiss the “social” issues as minor compared to financial woes. But which matters more to our LORD? Which matters most to you…and to me?
His help is near for those who fear him and his glory will dwell in our land.

PSALM 85
Morning Prayer
Liturgy of the Hours
September 11, 2012

O Lord, you once favored your land and revived the fortunes of Jacob, you forgave the guilt of your people and covered all their sins. You averted all your rage, you calmed the heat of your anger.

Revive us now, God, our helper! Put an end to your grievance against us. Will you be angry with us for ever, will your anger never cease?

Will you not restore again our life that your people may rejoice in you? Let us see, O Lord, your mercy and give us your saving help.

I will hear what the Lord God has to say, a voice that speaks of peace, peace for his people and his friends and those who turn to him in their hearts. His help is near for those who fear him and his glory will dwell in our land.

Mercy and faithfulness have met; justice and peace have embraced. Faithfulness shall spring from the earth and justice look down from heaven.

The Lord will make us prosper and our earth shall yield its fruit. Justice shall march before him and peace shall follow his steps.

10 thoughts on “A voice that speaks of peace……

    • Nancy, Amen to what you wrote! Growing up, the message I received everywhere was that God and goodness were both most desirable. Now everything has changed. I just hope it isn’t too late to save our country….God bless America!

  1. Patricia.. I am so concerned over the state of our nation as we enter the elections and appreciate this reminder that came from morning prayer.
    What matters most to me is to see a revival and repentance that awakens our need to turn from our wicked immoral ways. Lately, I feel such a strong pull to prayer and keep encountering such a spiritual battle to get there. My heart feels heavy because the focus of so many stays fixed on the economy..

    His Word, now more than ever, is the light to our path.
    Love and blessings +

    • Caroline, I too am so very concerned. I can’t imagine that the current administration would be re-elected, considering the state of the economy, but the polls tend toward re-election….especially when the electoral votes are factored in. We can only pray! We cannot continue killing over 3000 babies each day, or mocking God with abandon as is commonplace now. There is no place to go anymore. We were once the nation founded on God and enshrining life and liberty in our Declaration of Independence. I used to be so proud to be an American. Now, we seem to be following the rest of the world into darkness.

      As I type this, they are showing video on TV of the attacks on the towers on 9/11. For a little while, we did turn back to God…but now we are worse than ever. May He have Mercy on us. I join you in prayer for our country, dear Caroline.

      Love and prayers +

  2. Hi Patricia,
    I am soooo in agreement with you on the condition of our country. Ten years ago I didn’t think things could get any worse and yet they did. You are right – we are worse than ever.
    Thanks for posting this beautiful Psalm. How fitting that it should fall on 9/11.

    God bless 🙂

    • Hi Mary…so good to hear from you! Since I posted this, we now have the new crisis in the Middle East. I don’t know what will happen if the elections don’t bring about major changes here in November. I, for one, certainly need to pray a lot more.

      BTW, aren’t your “two weeks” up? 🙂 I miss you! Actually, I will soon be disappearing for close to a month, as we are going to Germany/Austria for a few weeks. So I will be having a “blog break” too.

      I hope you will be posting again soon. We all need your space to make us laugh, as well as all of your deep insights to make us think…..
      Pls. say a prayer that my husband and I have a safe trip.

      Love and hugs to you……

  3. Hi Patricia,
    This is shaping up to be a discomforting couple of months leading up to this election. Agree with your points above. I really don’t understand how this, the most pro-abortion, and one of the least qualified to do the job of President could be re-elected given the damage he has done to our country. Did you know people are rolled right from the unemployment rolls to the disability rolls without much qualification challenge? On top of that there is the food stamps and such to a large chunk of our population. Due to the lack of prosperity, there are more and more that rely on the government for survival. It probably scares them when Ryan says ‘entitlement reform’ because that is the only way they have survived. Even if they know that prosperity is the only way for them to become self-sufficient again, they have other more immediate concerns if they are not working, whether they are included in the counts as unemployed or left the workforce. Romney and Ryan don’t talk about these people. The safety net is bigger now than it ever has been. Part of it has been by design/strategy . . . . The financial situation . . debt is my lesser concern versus fighting the evil of abortion, but it helps to explain why this guy might stay in power. It is similar to how FDR stayed in power. He kept families fed and with some trickle of income during a hard time, and he, like this one had the personality that seemed to distract the non-intellectuals, non-students of history in the populace (some might say that is a majority…I really don’t know) and won 4 elections!

    God bless you and keep you well!
    Love, Colleen

    • Colleen, I am astounded whenever I see the polls…that he could win a second term with the country in such a mess, and the government just printing more and more money. How sad to see the government now in charge of most of the economy, and the horrors hidden in that health care nightmare.

      But like you, I always think of the life issues first. I’m thinking Supreme Court justices to be appointed during the next four years. Even if Congress would pass any pro-life legislation…and of course the Senate wouldn’t, but it would still all end with the veto pen.

      I had forgotten about FDR having FOUR terms. That is truly frightening. How sad that so many are taken in by the “trickle” you menitoned…not realizing they will never prosper until they get an education or learn job skills etc.

      I just pray that God will have Mercy on us, and somehow we will elect a new president and senate.

      I’m fine. Have just been really tired lately (too much night owl?) 🙂 Also…runnning around trying to get everything in place before we leave.

      Thanks for your prayers. I’m thinking of and praying for you too. Hope things are going well.

      Much love……xoxo

  4. Lol…Yeah, my two weeks have been up for a while 😉 I’m not sure when I’ll be posting but I’m glad I stopped by before you left on your trip. I hope you have fun and I will pray for you!

    • Thanks for the prayers, Mary! Maybe you will be back in action by the time I return. LOL!
      I do miss you! I’ve been pretty absent this summer myself….just haven’t had enough time. I guess the Lord will provide for both of us when it’s His timing.

      Hugs to you dear friend xo

Your thoughts?

