What I did last weekend….

HERE COMES THE BRIDE!

My son got married on July 28.  It was a happy and exciting day for all of us.   The wedding was simple and very much a family affair, with our bride’s relatives preparing the food, and friends pitching in with the decorations and music etc.

My lovely new daughter-in-law would not have had it any other way.  She is all about family.  Her one special request was to have a brooch bouquet, rather than one made of flowers, and so her aunt sewed it by hand….from fabric taken from our bride’s deceased mother’s wedding gown.  Nestled within each flower- like swirl of fabric was a lovely, sparkling brooch of silver or blue stones.  A tiny framed portrait of her mom hung from one of the ribbons.  

Special memories for me were receiving a rose from my son, shortly after they pronounced their vows, and also receiving a beautiful card from him, in which one of the things he wrote was, “Thank you for loving Brianna.”  Isn’t that what our children would want perhaps most of all….that we would love the one they themselves love so much?

And….for those who know my deep love for St. Therese, did I mention that my daughter-in-laws’s middle name is Rose?  🙂

The newlyweds are on a plane flying home as I write this.  May I ask your prayers for them as they begin their new life together?

Meanwhile, here are some glimpses of what I did last weekend……

Little Sis and Me

18 thoughts on “What I did last weekend….

  1. Patricia, Thank you for sharing the pictures with us. It looks like it was a very happy day, and you look beautiful and have a wonderful smile in all your pictures. May God Bless the happy couple as they begin their life as husband and wife! Colleen

    • Thank you, Colleen…especially for your prayers. I’m hoping they can make it through work today! They got in so very late..or rather early this morning. I know you and I could handle that :)…..but hope they can too!

      It was a very happy day! I would like to have posted more pictures of the wedding party, guests, etc., but I did not feel right doing that without asking permission. So, except for the children, I kept to close family. Maybe when the professional pictures become available, I can share more through those. Thank you for your sweet comments. The sister with me is the one who is a nurse, and who, together with me, cared for our parents for their last five years. We have been inseparable since she was born! 🙂 God bless you!

  2. Thanks for sharing the pictures, Patricia. I love the brooch bouquet~what a beautiful idea, and one that will last long after flowers would.
    Many blessings on the newlyweds!

    • Thank you, Karin…especially for the blessings. Her bouquet was much lovelier than the picture reveals. When I first saw it, I just teared up, seeing her mom’s tiny portrait attached. How hard not to have your mother there on your wedding day. One other nice thing about the bouquet is that the brooches were gifts from loved ones, and some had been in the family, so there was a lot of love and sentiment there. Thanks for sharing our families’ memories of such a beautiful day!

    • Thank you, Theresa! Please say a little prayer for them. They got back so late…actually after midnight, and have to go to work today. I hope that youth will supply 🙂 I confess that (if anyone had asked!) I probably would have planned a more formal wedding…like we had in the “olden days” when I got married. But, with their personalities, that would have just been too traditional and overdone. It’s easy being the mother of the groom; you just go with the flow and enjoy everything…which I did. Now, I just pray they will live happily every after!

  3. Patricia…I love the pictures…So nice of you to share them..It puts faces to the prayers. That is so sweet about the rose, both the one you received from your son ( how did you hold it together?) and the fact that it’s her middle name. The Lord knows how to meet the needs of our heart, doesn’t He?
    I will be continuing to pray for their lives together.
    You are all so beautiful … The smile on your face is so full of the light of love for Christ and your family.

    Love you Blessings and +

    • Caroline, thanks so much for the kind comments. I was so good…I didn’t cry at all! Amazing! I think I was so happy to see how happy they were! Also, I had taken my trip down mmemory lane and thought all the deep thoughts during the previous weeks…so maybe it was out of my system, and there was only the joy left 🙂 My son has been so sweet. He called last night while they were at the San Francisco airport, and then again just a few minutes ago to let me know they were safely home and had gotten some rest. (Good thing he didn’t send texts…my phone’s memory is getting pretty crowded! 🙂

      I will never forget finding out that Brianna’s middle name is Rose. I was absolutely delighted! My nephew/godson has great devotion to St. Therese, and has been longing to meet the right girl and settle down. We all pray for his intention, and whenever I e-mailed him, I’ve always referred to her as his “Rose”…long before I knew we had our own Rose in the family. So yes, the LORD does know how to meet the needs of our hearts. I have great hope that Brianna Rose and Christopher will come to know and love Him very deeply soon in their young lives. (And that my darling nephew will soon meet his own Rose.)

      Thank you so much for your prayers. Believe me, they do need them as they return to work…and my son to school in January.
      And Caroline…YOU are beautiful! This I know, even without seeing a picture…your beauty spills all over the place in everything you share.

      Love and prayers to you, dear almost mother-in-law #2! xoxo

    • Oh Nancy, you’re so sweet! I’m glad her aunt e-mailed me pictures of the bouquet the week before the wedding, because that’s when I broke down…especially at seeing the tiny picture of her dear mother who died many years ago. Thank you so much for your prayers! They are appreciated more than you could know. God bless! Wish I had a tissue for you….. 🙂 Love and hugs…

  4. Hi Patricia,
    Congratulations to your son and his new wife! May God bless them and hold them close as they begin their journey together.

    The pictures are wonderful! (And you are a beautiful woman both inside and outside.) God bless.

    • Mary, thank you so much for all of your very kind words, and especially for your prayers!

      I can’t believe it has been almost 2 weeks already. We haven’t seen them since the wedding, as they were away for a week, and then returned Monday and have been working. (We live about an hour away from them.)

      Enjoy Michaela…time sure does fly 🙂

      Hugs to you…my kind friend!

  5. What a blessed day for you all!
    God is so obviously in your midst and watching over your family.
    Beautiful photos..of beautiful souls.
    God bless you Patricia!
    in His grace..Trish

    • Trish, so good to see you here! Thank you for your lovely comment. I hope that you are doing well, and feeling better. God bless you too, and keep you in His care always. Love and hugs….

  6. How very beautiful you are Patricia! Your physical beauty perfectly matches the lovely words you write here! I love the brooch bouquet-what a clever tribute, and it will be a lifelong memento with so much more meaning than flowers which die and are forgotten. Congratulations to everyone! Thanks for posting about this very special day!

    • Anne, thank you for your kind words. Two hours at the beauty salon helped a lot. For the only time in my life, I had my makeup done professionally. They glued on false eyelashes, but when I got home, I noticed how they had come unglued at the inner corners of both eyes and were “popping up” a bit. I have no idea at what point that “malfunction” occurred 🙂 The LORD is so good at humbling us at all times. But I did want to look my best, so I do appreciate your sweet comment very much.

      I love the brooch bouquet too. It is a beautiful keepsake, and also a source of pretty pins when you need one!

      PS My husband reminded me that I will get a professional makeup job one more time….he thinks he is so funny. Well, at least I won’t have to worry about eyelashes coming unglued when that time comes! 🙂

  7. To think I almost missed this post! I’m very happy for you and your family Patricia and be assured I will continue to keep everyone in my prayers, plus one – your lovely new daughter-in-law! I second what Anne said – your exterior beauty is commensurate with what you reveal about your soul. It is nice to have a face to put with the words. Much love, Joyce

    • Oh Joyce….HUGS! What a lovely surprise to hear from you. I’ve missed you! For a long time, I kept checking The Little Way each morning, just in case you had returned 🙂 I do hope all is going well for you and your family. I am ecstatic over the news about Rebecca! Please do keep us updated. See what love Therese has for you! I can’t imagine your joy at even the possiblity of Rebecca entering Carmel. So happy for you!

      Thank you so much for your prayers for my family. I’m delighted that you found the “wedding post.” It was all very exciting. Today, my husband and I had dinner with the newlyweds…first time we saw them since they returned from their honeymoon. It was fun, and they seem very happy.

      Thank you for the kind words. I always enjoy seeing pictures of the bloggers I read regularly. It does help to put faces with the words.
      I miss you! Your funny, inspiring, observant, interesting, surprising, outspoken place among the Catholic blogs can never be replaced. But, I do hope your choice has been a really good one for you! Many prayers for you and your family, Joyce..especially Rebecca.
      Please come again!

      Love,
      Patricia xoxo

Your thoughts?

