Do thou at least console Me…..

The Sacred Heart was represented to me as a resplendent sun, the burning rays of which fell vertically upon my heart, which was inflamed with a fire so fervent that it seemed as if it would reduce me to ashes.

It was at these times especially that my Divine Master taught me what He required of me and disclosed to me the secrets of His loving Heart.  On one occasion, while the Blessed Sacrament was exposed, feeling wholly withdrawn within myself by an extraordinary recollection of all my senses and powers, Jesus Christ, my sweet Master, presented Himself to me, all resplendent with glory, His Five Wounds shining like so many suns.  Flames issued from every part of His Sacred Humanity, especially from His Adorable Bosom, which resembled an open furnace and disclosed to me His most loving and most amiable Heart, which was the living source of these flames.

It was then that He made known to me the ineffable marvels of His Pure Love, and showed me to what an excess He had loved men, from whom He received only ingratitude and contempt.

I feel this more, He said, than all I suffered during My Passion.  If only they would make Me some return for My Love, I should think but little of all I have done for them and would wish, were it possible, to suffer still more.  But the sole return they make for all My eagerness to do them good is to reject Me and treat Me with coldness.  Do thou at least console Me by supplying for their ingratitude as far as thou art able.

From:  The Autobiography of Saint Margaret Mary, Tan Publishers, p.70

(Something to ponder….Jesus spoke these words to St. Margaret Mary in the 17th century.  One wonders what He would say in our time…..)

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Please celebrate World Day for Priests today by joining in the “blanket” of rosaries offered for our priests. The link below gives more information, but all you really have to do is offer a rosary for the intentions of World Day for Priests.
http://worldpriestday.publishpath.com/

2 thoughts on “Do thou at least console Me…..

  1. It breaks my heart to think that in all of the years since Christ’s passion and death, in all of His deep love for us, we are so ungrateful and carry on with our arrogant sinfulness. We look at His heart as if it means nothing, that wounded, precious heart burning with love and we completely ignore.

    O Sacred Heart of Jesus, take our sinful hearts and make them like unto Thine!

    • Anne, it breaks my heart too…especially that I am so ungrateful and forgetful of Him. But I think of the world out there, and how many people don’t care at all today, and I feel so helpless..
      Still, when Jesus lovingly complains to the mystics, He always says that it is the souls who do know Him, have received so many graces, etc., who cause Him the most pain when they forget Him. Could that be us?

      I echo your prayer above! Thank you.

Your thoughts?

