So little loved….

“HERE IS THE HEART THAT HAS SO LOVED MEN AS TO SPARE NOTHING FOR THEM, EXHAUSTING AND CONSUMING ITSELF IN ORDER TO PROVE ITS LOVE FOR THEM; AND IN RETURN I RECEIVE, FROM MOST OF THEM, ONLY INGRATITUDE.”  (Words of Jesus to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque)

By Jose María Ibarrarán y Ponce, 1896

The Twelve Promises of Jesus to Saint Margaret Mary for those devoted to His Sacred Heart
•I will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life.
•I will establish peace in their families.
•I will console them in all their troubles.
•They shall find in My Heart an assured refuge during life and especially at the hour of their death.
•I will pour abundant blessings on all their undertakings.
•Sinners shall find in My Heart the source of an infinite ocean of mercy.
•Tepid souls shall become fervent.
•Fervent souls shall speedily rise to great perfection.
•I will bless the homes where an image of My Heart shall be exposed and honored.
•I will give to priests the power of touching the most hardened hearts.
•Those who propagate this devotion shall have their names written in My Heart, never to be effaced.
•The all-powerful love of My Heart will grant to all those who shall receive Communion on the First Friday of nine consecutive months the grace of final repentance; they shall not die under my displeasure, nor without receiving their Sacraments; My heart shall be their assured refuge at that last hour.

6 thoughts on “So little loved….

  1. I find Jesus’ words to St. Margaret Mary regarding our ingratitude so heartbreaking and so true. Such love he poured out for us, such indifference we show to him. Yet, like the beloved that he is, he continues to reach out to us and beckons us to devotion of his Sacred Heart.

    Thank you Patrica for posting this.

    God bless

    • Hi Lisa. I cannot believe my own indifference at times. I am so ashamed. No wonder Jesus showers down so many graces and gifts on Saints like Margaret Mary, Faustina, Therese, etc. There seem to be so few who truly love Him with pure hearts, although I hope there really are many more hidden saints in the world. I’m certainly going to pray today to love Him much more. May He grant you that grace as well, as you celebrate the Feast of His precious Sacred Heart.
      Love,
      Patricia

  2. Who better to understand the frustrations of our daily lives than the love of the Sacred Heart of Jesus spurned by those He came to save ? This was my grandmother’s favorite devotion..
    So little loved…I can hardly bear the thought..
    Beautiful picture,…Love and Blessings +

    • “I can hardly bear the thought.”
      Me too, and yet I do so little about it, which is another thought so hard to bear!
      I leave so many broken promises at His Feet….
      When I feel rejected, I do try to remember ths One Whose pain of rejection is beyond anything we could ever imagine.

      Please pray for my friend Camille, who lost an infant daughter many years ago, and in January, lost her precious 40 year old daughter to stomach cancer. (I had posted here about it asking prayers.) Just got off the phone with her, and am feeling so sad….what can you say? She has great faith, but the pain is simply overwhelming. I felt so helpless talking to her.

      Thanks in advance for your prayers, dear Caroline.
      Love you,
      Patricia xoxo

  3. Patricia,
    I love this devotion 🙂 I have done the first Fridays a number of times and have a Sacred Heart Statue in my home. I love the Novena too!

    I think another way we can console His Sacred Heart is by going to Adoration. When I go the church is usually empty except for a couple of people. Shouldn’t they be filled? I understand not everyone can go because they work, raise families, etc… but surely churches should not be that empty.

    Mary

    • HI Mary! I have only done the nine Fridays once, but I just told my husband that we need to do them together soon. Such beautiful promises, but so sad that Jesus has to offer something to win our love.

      I agree with you about Adoration. I don’t understand why so few go. During my committed hours, I’m very often the only person in there the whole time…and it’s in the afternoon, so not 3am or anything. I guess we should be deeply grateful that we have been given the Grace to go ourselves…and just keep praying that more and more people will come.

      Your recent post was so interesting! I think the confession lines will be longer tomorrow : ) I’m planning to be in one!

      Love you,
      Patricia

Your thoughts?

