The loveliest Mother of all…..

TO OUR LADY

By Mary Dixon Thayer

Lovely Lady dressed in blue
Teach me how to pray!
God was just your little Boy,
Tell me what to say!

Did you lift Him up, sometimes,
Gently on you knee?
Did you sing to Him the way,
Mother does to me?

Did you hold His hand at night?
Did you ever try
Telling stories of the world?
O! And did He cry?

Do you really think He cares
 If I tell Him things-
Little things that happen? And
Do the Angels’ wings

Make a noise? And can He hear’
Me if I speak low?
 Does He understand me now?
Tell me–for you know?

Lovely Lady dressed in blue,
Teach me how to pray!
God was just your little Boy,
And you know the way.

This beloved poem was a great favorite of the Servant of God, Fulton J. Sheen, who popularized it during the 1950’s.

6 thoughts on “The loveliest Mother of all…..

  1. Have a blessed and peace filled Mother’s Day, Patricia. How blessed we are to have our Blessed Mother especially under the title, Our Lady of Mt. Carmel.

    • Happy and Blessed Mother’s Day greetings to you, dear Theresa! I hope you got the day off 🙂 Oh yes, we are so very blessed to have Our Lady of Mt. Carmel. I love that our model of Our Lady is Mary who contemplates and ponders all things in her heart. Hope the Day of Recollection went well.

      Our retreat is in three weeks…can’t wait! Topic will be Contemplation.

      God bless you and your family!

    • Happy Mother’s Day Caroline! I love him too….and he’s on the road to Sainthood. I once saw him in person. He was guest homilist at a special Mass in our diocese. He spoke about Our Lady. What I remember most was how very humble he appeared. It’s the same thing which struck me about dear Father Thomas Dubuy, now deceased. He spoke at a Carmelite Congress in 2002, and I was sitting close enough to really be able to observe him. Absolute simplicity and humility. Guess I know why I’m not a Saint 🙂

      I love the poem. I first saw it on a thank-you card my husband wrote to me when I gave him a family bible,,,which he had requested, for his graduation gift from college. Much love to you! xo

  2. my life stinks.frm the time of birth till date am seeing my mom crying why so…if god see me why can’t he help me???

    • Hi Avinash. Thank you for taking the time to comment.
      I’m so sorry that life has been tough for you, and for your mom as well, it seems. But I promise you that God sees everything, and that He does want to help you. Have you tried talking to Him from your heart…just like a little child? He loves you so much and wants to help you more than you can imagine. You didn’t say what is so bad about your life, but I want you to know that I’ve had a lot of pain in my life too. I really know how scared and lonely it can feel.

      But really trusting in God has made all of the difference. I never feel alone or helpless anymore. Please give God a chance to show you how much He loves you. He really, really loves you!

      Just picture Jesus holding you and wiping away your tears. And pour out your heart to Him. Please know that I am praying for you. And if you need to “talk”, please feel free to leave as many comments as you like, or you can email me at therese.martin24@yahoo.com

      Peace be with you, Avinash.
      Patricia

Your thoughts?

