One thing I ask of the Lord…

Adoring Jesus today,
–Gazing into His Holy Face
Bowing before His Majesty
–Lost in wonder at His Love
Slumbering in Divine Caresses
–Rejoicing in the Kiss of God
Smiling at the Glorious One.

I have found Heaven on earth!

 But I in my uprightness will see Your Face,
and when I awake, I shall be filled with the vision of You. (Psalm 17:15) NJB

My Beloved Jesus, how delighted I was when You showed me this Scripture verse in response to my question: “Lord, will I see Your Face when I appear before You for judgment?”

For, even if I must enter into the place of purification for a time, the memory of Your Most Beautiful Countenance will sustain me, and keep my heart burning with love and longing for You.

It will not be in my own “uprightness” that I will see You then, but rather through the Grace and Mercy which You Yourself have won for me, my Adored One.

Here before You in the Most Blessed Sacrament, I behold Your Face, even now. My eyes search for Yours, veiled beneath the white Host. But, through faith, my soul is already filled with the vision of You!

It is a vision so sweet and mysterious, yet wonderfully real, and I know that You are gazing back at me with Infinite Love and Tenderness.

This vision of faith, O My God, is a prelude to that unveiled, heavenly vision, when at last my eyes will truly behold the Most Beautiful of the sons of man.

Jesus, Your Face…my Joy!

10 thoughts on “One thing I ask of the Lord…

  1. So Beautiful Patricia…this forward hope we have that one day we will see His face! And thank goodness it doesn’t depend on my own righteousness. I too search for His face here through the gift of the Blessed Sacrament. For so long I hungered for Him when I was away. There’s no way to measure the beauty of this living bread…but your words always help me find a little more light.

    Hugs and Blessings +

    • Thank you, Caroline! When my parents were dying, I found myself thinking how soon, they would see the Face of Jesus. I was with my mother when she passed away, and although my heart was breaking, I was so happy for her. After she died, I sat with her and held onto her and wondered if she had seen Him yet. What a great mystery, and one we will all experience one day.

      I like to think that when we visit Jesus in the Most Blessed Sacrament, that He loves to see our faces too! Even though God always “sees” us, it seems there is something especially unique and intimate in that Eucharistic encounter…something like what Mary Magdalene and the apostles experienced after the Resurrection. As one priest on my last retreat said, “Look at Him. He has eyes to see… Don’t just read a book!” I love to think that He studies our faces, even as we gaze with faith at His, hidden in the Host. Deep in my heart, I so cherish these “face to Face” encounters here on earth, and love to imagine that Jesus will recall them when I appear before Him for judgment and say, “I know you. I’ve seen your face before Me.”

      Caroline, I think you long ago recaptured those years that the locusts had eaten… It seems Our Lord put you on the fast-track! I can’t imagine anyone more Catholic than you! I love you my friend.

      Hugs and prayers,
      Patricia

  2. Patricia, this is a beautiful meditation. I do wonder if we will see …. Experience the beatific vision before or after purification. The beatitude says the pure of heart will see God. I do not doubt that we will see Jesus during our personal judgement after death, but wonder if the FULL beauty, GLORY, MAJESTY, EXTREME BRILLIANCE that doesn’t hurt the eyes of God will not be experienced until afterward. I have no idea though. . . They are just thoughts.

    • Hi Colleen! I love your comment…your description in caps of what we hope one day to see!
      In my post, I was speaking of being face to Face with Jesus. I wasn’t sure if we would actually clearly see the beautiful face of Our Savior at the particular judgment. I would so love to see Him, even just for a second before Purgatory…although Therese encourages us to trust that the Love of Jesus will purify us in an instant, if we really believe in the Greatness of That LOVE.

      My understanding is that we will not behold the Beatific Vision until we are truly in Heaven. I imagine that to behold God as He Is, and then be taken away from Him would be absolutely unbearable. To lose Him forever is surely the greatest pain of hell.

      You were very much in my prayers at adoration and Mass today, dear Colleen. I pray for peace to be with you always..even in the midst of these trials.

      Love and a big hug,
      Patricia

      • Patricia, I forgot to answer a question of yours on The Offering to Merciful Love. I was praying the short version of this almost daily alone in a church in front of the tabernacle. I pray it still every once in awhile. It is truly a beautiful prayer which teaches and gives witness to St. Therese’s great love, and her confidence in the love and merits of Jesus. I have love and great gratitude to God that she was inspired to make this offering. Fr. Gaitley included the short and long versions in Consoling the Heart of Jesus book and certainly the theology of the offering is at the heart of his teaching on how we can console the loving, merciful heart of Jesus. I believe just as you wrote that Jesus can prepare us in a single moment. My memory of St. Catherine of Genoa’s writings is that she experienced purgatory as being purged by the experience of God’s immense love. Revelation 7 says the masses had their robes washed in the Precious Blood of the Lamb! My belief is that if we are merciful, forgiving and striving to love as we are loved this purification in a moment by love is possible. The place of accepting and carrying our crosses is not escaped by offering myself to the burning tenderness of Christ’s love, though, right? St. Therese suffered greatly trials of physical and spiritual suffering. Her great love though made her cross sweet. I am not writing to teach you, who are such an expert on this great saint, so much as to share that this is my understanding. I haven’t read the many books you have on her life, but have read her STORY OF A SOUL twice. I chose her name for my confirmation name.
        I do love HE AND I but am reading it less as I focus on the 33 DAys to Morning Glory retreat book. Thank you for your guidance on He and I. it is truly in my hands according to the orchestration of the Holy Spirit. i’ve only read about 10%, but there were words from Jesus about the emotional wound I had been praying for, the false humility that keeps me from being closer and more familiar with him, and the pointing back to Mary for the graces needed to be more tender to Jesus, amd more humble, gentle, and compassionate in my life. I am going to make a thorough study . . . . Lots of note taking on He and I after I finish my study of Mary and renew formally my consecration to her. I made the consecration informally, 7 years ago. I also became invested in the Carmelite scapular then by a priest. I think I am still far from target on what Mary through the Holy Spirit can do with me. Certainly my lack of discipline and faithfulness in praying the daily rosary as I promised when receiving the scapular weigh on me, and I would like to begin anew. Long ramble tonight . . . Thank you for your love and your great kindness and generosity praying for me and sending me your encouragement and love so often. Some day we’ll make good on those hugs. Love, Colleen. my comment is so long I can’t see the beginning of it. iPad, or at least my current knowledge of its use leaves me wondering if the top was deleted. I’ll find out later.

        • Dear Colleen, I was so touched by your comment, and the thought of you kneeling before the tabernacle praying a version of Therese’s Offering to Merciful Love. Truly, I am humbled by your constant devotion and dedication to Our Lord, and the incredible depth which you apply to reading and studying our Faith…as though to draw out the very last drop of any precious wisdom. You must be a wonderful teacher!

          Regarding St. Therese, you are absolutely correct about the great trials she suffered, and the many trials which all of those who truly wish to love Our Lord will no doubt encounter. Therese used to pray, “Jesus, make me resemble You.” Because, the beloved of Jesus seeks to be like her Divine Lover…she too is “thirsty” for souls, and desires to unite any sufferings God permits in her life to those of Jesus to “help” win souls for Him

          Therese, wishing to leave ALL to God’s Will did not desire to ask for greater suffering, (as some Saints have done), but rather to accept whatever joys and sorrows the Will of God destined for her. Her genius, inspired by the Holy Spirit, was to say to God, through her Act of Oblation, that she wished to live her entire life as “one act of perfect love”….her life would be the “holocaust,” and God’s Love would be the Fire. She begged Him to consume her unceasingly, so that she would become a “martyr to Your Love, O my God.” She desired that the “waves of infinite tenderness” rejected by others would flow into her, and God’s Heart would be relieved of this Love “locked within.” Her great grace was to believe so confidently in His Love…the immensity and tenderness of It, and His “need” to find someone to receive it. But again, if we are to have this deep love relationship with Jesus, He will share with us His Passion..the greatest expression of His Love… but our suffering will have untold merit, because it will be so intimately united with His Own.

          Therese spent the last 18 months of her life, enduring a horrendous trial of faith…she even wrote out the Creed in her own blood. In addition, she suffered immensely from the pains of tuberculosis which caused her unbearable agony, and the Prioress at the Carmel would permit no morphine or any pain medication recommended by the doctors.
          She truly resembled her beloved Jesus in His experience of abandonment and torture on the Cross. She clung to Him in her darkness and pain and died making an act of love…”Oh, I love Him..my God, I love You!”

          I’m afraid I’m the one who has rambled….but I hope this makes some sense : )

          I too never read He and I from cover to cover, so to speak. I read it from moment to meomnt, with days and even months passing between the moments. I find it to be such a gold mine, that you really can only absorb one little nugget at a time. That book came into my life at a time when I really needed it, and it brought great consolation. God seems to always have the perfect book whenever we need it!

          Oh yes! One day we will make good on all those hugs! Caroline and I joke about having a big library table in Heaven, where we can finally read all the books we never finished on earth. Perhaps you would like to join us at our table? And there will be much laughter and many warm hugs!

          Colleen, Jesus treasures your Offering to Him, as you bring with it the many crosses you are currently dealing with. He sees Himself in you…in your suffering. Rest on His Heart. He loves you so very much! You are a precious person!

          Love and prayers,
          Patricia

          • Oh, Patricia – your response read so beautifully . . . I know you have touched on this before in your posts on your beloved St. Therese. It was so powerful reading it in a summary written with so much love by you. I am digging deeper into St. Maximilian Kolbe’s writings and there is one quote of his I read last night that nails why you have such a thorough understanding of St. Therese’s offering her life “as one act of perfect love”. His quote, “The only knowledge that is of value is that which proceeds from love . . . ”
            Your explanation of suffering as proceeding from a deep love relationship with Jesus . . . . I don’t want to copy it here because you, inspired by the Holy Spirit . . . and understood by you because of the suffering you have united to the suffering of Christ in your own life, I don’t want to merely quote it. I do think you have in your response above the He and I part the makings of a very beautiful, and very helpful to others post and you could probably put hyperlinks to your previous posts where you explored some of the points in more depth. Actually I think it would be awesome guest post on the Community of Catholic Bloggers. If you post it here I or one of the other writers there could post it into one there as well linking back here . . . or putting 1/4 of it there with link back to here so you would be able to keep the comments mostly here. It actually would be great in Catholic Digest or something very widely read.
            I had no idea how much St. Therese endured before reading your comment! I hope that Prioress wasn’t her sister. I can’t imagine how long or how intensely she suffered without the benefit of pain medication. I read some of her quotes, but without having the background information . . . “no morphine”, it just doesn’t have the same impact.
            On the lighter side, I see there is a difference between choosing a saint’s name for your confirmation name at age 14, and really finding an affinity for the spirituality and life example of a saint as you have with St. Therese, and reading and molding your own love and loving response to Jesus after hers! I do love St. Therese! Sometimes her suffering is missed because her “little way” of love and offering herself as oblation to the tenderness of Christ’s heart is emphasized. It reminds me of the “Couch to 5K” running program. There is attempt to hide the strain and truth of the cross and sharing in Christ’s passion that comes from following after Him with all your heart. Well with the running program it is to limit the out of breath and aches and pains that come from going too long and too fast too soon. Some aren’t ready to hear that, and I suppose wise people like Fr. Gaitley know it is best to bring them slowly from the couch? I certainly had no idea of the magnitude of her suffering or its duration until reading your comment . . . your knowledge coming from reading every good book you can find on her life.
            When you talk about the table with books in heaven, my metaphysical questioning switch goes on. While I would love to finally have the time and camaraderie to read them with you, Caroline and others of us that would love to spend most of our awake time doing this now, won’t the need to read them be obsolete in heaven? Although I do wish I had some in real life friends and family members who were like you, Caroline and me so i could share with them more! I know you can’t even make a joke without me questioning! Maybe we will still be learning in heaven, again, I don’t know! 🙂 Hard for me to fathom the communion and joy we will have there, if hugs will even be necessary or if the love experience will be so strong just from the glorious LOVING presence of God that unites all of us! The only way I can try to understand it is to think of times when I was most enjoying just being with someone of course combining that with the memory I have of when I was most aware of God’s loving presence and tenderness.
            You, Patricia, are a wonderful, loving, wise teacher! Thank you for taking some significant time to explain more about St. Therese to me. I imagine you enjoy writing and reading about her, but still you put the energy into a response to me and I’m grateful! You are a precious person too, well beloved by St. Therese, and by your Savior, Jesus Christ our Lord and King! Love, Colleen

          • Colleen, please forgive my delay in responding. My wrist was acting up and I had a brace on it for a few days…pretty hard to type with that ; )
            I wanted to hug you when I read your comment about the famous “library table.” Caroline and I started that some months ago when we both admitted that our love of reading even extended to our cereal boxes during breakfast, as children. We had a good laugh, and that’s how the “library table” came to be…a place to read all the books that we never had time to read in this life. But yes, it is only metaphorical. I think we will have infused knowledge in Heaven, and not need to read anymore books…well maybe, just for fun! As for the hugs, I’m still hoping we really can share those. I’ve so often thought about what it would be like to at last be able to hug Jesus, and to be embraced by Him. He is like us in all things but sin, and I think He must have been the most loving and affectionate Person when He lived on earth. I can’t see why that wouldn’t continue in Heaven. But…we will find out all of these surprises one day! Meanwhile, I’m saving many big hugs for you—just in case!

            Yes, wasn’t that awful about Therese’s Prioress and the pain meds? She thought a Carmelite should be stoic enough to do without them. No, it wasn’t one of Therese’s sisters. I think they would have been more compassionate. As for the Prioress, she followed the same protocol when she developed tongue cancer a few years after Therese died…no morphine for herself either. Therese really loved her, and felt the hand of God working through her. But geeeee, the pain!

            Colleen, I’m so happy that my summary of Therese’s Act of Oblation was helpful to you. I have several posts explaining it. You can find them simply by clicking on Therese’s name in the tag cloud….but then I’m sure you know that : ) You are most welcome to use any of them over at CCB’s if you like. Let me know. They are more comprehensive than my comment…long tho it was! If you are still interested, just get back to me on it. Spreading devotion to Therese is very close to my heart, and I try to especially make known her Act of Oblation to Merciful Love, because she would like nothing more than for many little souls to join her in making it.

            I’m so happy that Father Gaitley has covered much of this in Consoling the Heart of Jesus. I’m going to order 33 days to Morning Glory, as it’s been a long time since I’ve renewed my Consceration to Our Lady.

            And Colleen, thank you so much for all of your kind words to me. I cherish them, and they give me encouragement to keep going. You are very kind.

            You have a great mind for detail and analysis. I can just see you sifting through that stack of books you have, writing notes furiously as you go. That’s so wonderful..your search for truth. But even more wonderful is your pure heart. May your current crosses grow lighter soon, and know that I am praying for you always.

            Love and HUGS : )
            Patricia xoxo

  3. I loved your reply. I am not going to further reply because i am already behind in reading your last two posts! 🙂 I did want to let you know that there is some improvement with my Mom and also my Dad sounds a ton better, especially in his thinking and composure. Thank you so much for all your encouragement and especially your many prayers! Love, Colleen

    • Oh Colleen, I’m so happy to hear encouraging news. Am headed off to adoration in a few minutes…many prayers for you and your intentions!

      HUGS,
      Patricia : )

Your thoughts?

