The very stones will cry out……


And when He drew near and saw the city He wept over it, saying, “Would that even today you knew the things that make for peace! But now they are hidden from your eyes. For the days shall come upon you, when your enemies will cast up a bank about you and surround you, and hem you in on every side, and dash you to the ground, you and your children within you, and they will not leave one stone upon another in you; because you did not know the time of your visitation.

Luke 19:41-44

4 thoughts on “The very stones will cry out……

  1. Patricia, this verse has always haunted me, especially this part;
    …”you did not know the time of your visitation”
    Can you imagine hearing those words from the Lord– and is this not the cry for the people of our day as well? What a time we live in..what an opportunity to offer our prayers on behalf of those who will not pray for themselves.
    Would that we too….”know the things that make for peace.”
    Love and prayers for a Blessed Holy Week and a joyous Easter.
    xxoo+

    • Caroline, I’ve followed this theme in your recent posts…is this not our time too? And I so feel the same way. Yesterday, I just wanted to just cry over the reading from Isaiah 65 for Morning Prayer: “I said: Here I am! Here I am! To a nation that did not call upon My Name….” I’m sure you know the passage.

      These days, I often think of St. Teresa, telling her nuns, that Jesus has so few real friends that those He does have need love Him very much. And I wish I were a better friend to Him… I only know that in my lifetime, I never before thought I would see the kind of evil I am seeing today.

      I’m glad we are praying together, Caroline, for our loved ones, and for the whole world.
      God bless you, my dear friend! May your Holy Week be most fruitful, and of course, I wish you a glorious Easter!

      Love and prayers,
      Patricia xo

    • How true, Karin. I kept thinking about today’s gospel, and wondering what happened during that week…that the people turned against Him. How sad He must have been…to be treated like a King one day, and a criminal only a few days later. Poor Jesus.

      God bless you dear Karin. May this Holy Season bring you many new graces and blessings. Peace be with you.

Your thoughts?

