Crown Him with many crowns…

As it is close to time for Evening Prayer I, I thought I would begin rejoicing in the Solemnity of Christ the King with the designated hymn, which is one of my favorites.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the lyrics identical to those in the breviary, which are more beautiful and befitting our King than those on all the youtube versions I surfed through.  But, the basic content is still there.  Hope you enjoy!

Let us celebrate the King of all kings, the Eternal Word and only- begotten Son of God, Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!  Forever be He praised!

4 thoughts on “Crown Him with many crowns…

    • Joyce, so glad you enjoyed it. I hope we all get to sing it at Mass tomorrow. I thought it was a beautiful rendition, but if you have a breviary, read the text used in Evening Prayer I. It’s even more beautiful! I couldn’t find that one in a decent arrangement. I might add a CD to my Christmas list. I really want the chant one by the nuns at Regina Laudis Abbey. (The Ignatius Press catalog is a great temptation for me to the gluttony Mary has been writing about!) : )

      Loved your observation about the Lamb upon the throne….what an amazing God we are privileged to love (and be loved!) by!

      Have a beautiful Feast Day tomorrow! I imagine the TLM will be to die for…
      Love,
      Patricia

  1. This is one of my most favorite feasts of the year. I love this hymn, too. When I think of Christ as King I can hardly contain my joy and think about the angels who are at His throne always rejoicing and praising Him.
    “To Him who sits on the throne and unto the Lamb…be blessing and honor and power and Glory forever.” Amen!

    Have a beautiful feast day Patricia..

    Love….Caroline “

    • Happy Feast Day, Caroline! This is one of my favorite feasts too! It is sort of like the last thing we celebrate before we join the Heavenly Feast that will never end….the eternal adoration of our Beloved King. I almost posted the Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah instead of Crown Him…but there were Christmas trees in many of the youtube versions : ) Don’t you love to read the book of Revelation where we can try to imagine what it will be like when His Kingship will be visible for us at last!

      Much love to you, my friend,
      Patricia

Your thoughts?

