His Word….and a kiss

My Eucharistic Jesus,

It is JOY to see only
the appearances of Bread and Wine.

It is GLORIOUS not
to experience Your Presence.

For then, as You give to me
the very Gift of Yourself,

I have something in return
to offer You –
FAITH.

Absolute TRUST in Your Words
and Your PROMISE:

Whoever eats My Flesh and drinks My Blood
lives in Me, and I live in him.

O my Faithful One,
should I require anything more than
YOUR WORD?

Father Jacques Daley, OSB, filling in for Mother Angelica one night on EWTN, said something so beautiful that I wrote it down.

In discussing how we are to receive Holy Communion, he said, “I feel Jesus prefers the mouth, because it is more intimate.”

And I thought, “Like a kiss……”

Let Him kiss me with the kisses of His mouth…..  (Song of Songs 1:2)

8 thoughts on “His Word….and a kiss

  1. Do those of us who have been Roman Catholic a long time take the Eucharist for granted? Do we really stop to think and thank God for the gift we have been given in the Eucharist. Pope John Paul II included “Instution of the Eucharist’ in the Luminous Mysteries of the rosary. When we say the rosary today, let us meditate on this great mystery. Maybe it will lead us into contemplation with our true Beloved.

    God Bless,

    Mike K

  2. Hi Mike, I hope you are doing well. Yes, sadly you are right. We have grown up with such a Miracle of Divine Love that many of us take this Gift for granted. I know I do not prepare well enough for Holy Mass. It’s something I really need to work on. Usually, I’m dashing out the door to get there on time.

    Thank you for reminding us to meditate more on this awesome Mystery. I’m grateful for your comment. It’s good to hear from you. God bless you and your family.

  3. I love what Father Daley said. Wasn’t he the priest who did a few specials on EWTN ? One about St Catherine of Sienna and one about St Therese…They were both wonderful series. I remember him because he was a Benedictine : )
    The longing and hunger for the Eucharist was the what brought me back home.

    Blessings, Patricia +

    • Hi Caroline! Yes, that was Father Daley. He did a couple of series on Therese. He really loves her! I think I missed the one on St. Catherine of Siena, but she is also one of my favorites. Father Daley was so gentle and funny, and he had some great stories about being a hospital chaplain. He seems to still be around. I’d love to see him do another series for EWTN. If I ever hear of him doing a retreat in the south, I’ll meet you there : )

      I listen to Catholic radio all the time, and that is what most people who return to the Church say — that they missed the Eucharist. So glad you are back! I’d love to hear that story someday.

      Blessings to you too, dear Caroline!

    • Thank you so much Anne! I wasn’t sure if it made sense to anyone else but me : ) I’m honored that you would share it with your friends. I’ve been thinking about you and all those children. You are so richly blessed! I loved reading about your get together with other moms of sons who are discerning a vocation to the priesthood. May God grant your family that matchless privilege — to have a son counted among His priests. And what a special relationship you would have with Our Lady, the Mother of priests. You can count on my prayers.

  4. i would like to comment on mikes comment. i do think that we as catholics sometimes take the Eucharist for granted and i even sometimes catch myself falling in to that error.

    Beautiful post Patricia

    God Bless

    • You are so right, Isaac. We are very blessed to live in a time when Holy Communion can be received daily. Can you imagine living during the centuries when people could only receive Jesus once or twice a year? But I’m sure they prepared so well for such a special moment. Still, I’m very grateful to God to live in these times, when we have daily Mass and Communion and even perpetual adoration. God is Good!

Your thoughts?

