The Dream……

Then it began to blow a great gale and the waves were breaking into the boat so that it was almost swamped. But He was in the stern, His head on the cushion, asleep. Mark 4:37-39

I especially love Mark’s account of the calming of the storm on the lake, because it includes the lovely little detail of Jesus resting His head on the cushion

O Son of God, asleep in the boat, Your Sacred Head resting upon a cushion — like us, You sought a bit of comfort. 

O how beautiful You are, Divine Jesus.  I love to sit and contemplate Your Holy Countenance at rest.  Sweet and Innocent Lamb of God, You are breathtaking, and I cannot turn my eyes away.

Gently, I reach out to brush back your damp hair so that I may drink in all the Beauty of Your Face.

I find myself wondering what You are dreaming about.  You look so peaceful.  O, I hope it is a lovely dream.  Perhaps You are dreaming of all who will one day love You and sing Your praises forever.

Are you dreaming of the great Saints and Martyrs who will live lives of heroic virtue, and even die for love of you?  Are you dreaming of Your Home in Heaven?

My Jesus, do I dare hope that You are dreaming of me?

The wind has picked up and a huge storm is moving into my life, but I must not wake You.   I recall Your words to Your disciples:  “Why are you frightened?  Have you still no faith?”

Increase my faith, O dearest Jesus!

“I sleep, but My Heart is awake.” (Song of Songs 5:2)  Your Heart hears my unspoken prayers.

Our boat is tossed about.  I can scarcely hold on.  I come closer, and snuggle next to You, resting my head upon Your Heart.  I close my eyes.  The waves wash over us.  I feel Your Closeness.  “I will not wake Him,”  I whisper to myself.  And I too drift off to peaceful sleep…….

“His left arm is under my head,
His right embraces me.” (Song of Songs 2:6)

 

 ………Some years ago, I often liked to ask Jesus what He dreamed about while on earth.  I never expected an answer, of course.  But one weekend, I went to a huge Marian Conference in New Orleans.  There were thousands of people there praising and worshiping God.  The Masses were beautiful.  There was an adoration chapel set up, and Our Blessed Lady was honored with beautiful words, prayers and an abundance of flowers.

I felt I had died and gone to Heaven, but the best was yet to come.  On Sunday evening, suddenly I heard the steady ringing of bells from a distance while the choir began to exquisitely sing “Crown Him with many Crowns.”  Then I saw the procession of white vested priests start down the aisle, amidst clouds of incense, and as the bells grew louder, I saw Him.  He was being carried in a ciborium swaddled in white, surrounded by candles.

But what took my breath away were His people.  As the procession passed each row in this immense conference center, all of the people bowed to the ground.  Row after row fell on their faces before Him.  As I watched with tears filling my eyes, awaiting His approach, I thought, “Oh, this must be what Heaven is like.”

And, unexpectedly, astonishingly, I heard a clear and tender voice whisper to my heart,

THIS is one of My Dreams! 

19 thoughts on “The Dream……

  1. Patricia, this is so very beautiful!!! “Do I dare hope that you are dreaming of me?” I love that! And, “This is one of my dreams.” Wonderful!

    Thank you so much for your sweet and uplifting note on my blog. You really touched my heart. My anxiety sends me to all kinds of crazy places in my mind-your words gave me comfort.

    • Thank you so much Anne for your kind words. I love thinking that He really was dreaming of each of us. Actually, He is never not thinking of us. We can count on that, and it is truly amazing!
      Glad I was able to help. This spiritual journey we are all on can be pretty daunting at times! Therese used to to say that she would sing while gathering flowers for Jesus, and if the thorns pierced her, so much the better. She would sing even louder. May you too sing, even when your must gather those berries in the midst of thorns. : )

  2. What an awesome blessing for you to be there in such a holy atmosphere!!
    I long to see such a response in my congregation.
    Thank you for sharing your love for Our Lord so tenderly – your beautiful words always touch my heart and draw me closer to Him!
    God bless you ..Trish

    • Trish, it was such an awesome place to be. It was during the early 90’s, when many people from the area were traveling to Medjugorje — hence the huge Marian conference. Sadly, those that followed dwindled down and were held in smaller arenas. Eventually, they stopped altogether. But, it was an incredible weekend. Being among all those people who truly loved the Lord practically lifted my feet off the ground! : ) His Love is contagious! Thank you so much for your encouraging words. I pray often to touch hearts for Jesus, and to hear that something I wrote did that is such a joy to me. Praise God! Thank you again. You too touch my heart! Blessings, Patricia

  3. With starting the new job this week and getting used to the new hours, I feel I haven’t had ample time to read my usual blogs. I’m so glad I didn’t miss this breathtakingly beautiful post. You think of things that I must admit have never occurred to me. And it is our good fortune that you share them with us. They’re inspired by the Holy Spirit and Our Lord must surely have you very close to His Sacred Heart.

    • Joyce, I hope your new job is going well. I read your post tonight, and know you are delighted to be so close to where Jesus dwells! I’m so grateful to God that you and others were touched by this post. It’s one of my favoirte meditations. Believe me, I’ve spent a lot of time in that boat snuggled close to Jesus during some big storms. But, if that’s what it takes to get close to Him………
      It’s so true that we learn from each other. I’m always amazed at what so many others write. We each have a different perspective. But then, our God is infinitely Good, True and Beautiful. We’ll never exhaust His wonders, and I just know He is so pleased when we take turns praising Him — and that’s the best part of all! Thank you again for your most kind comment. I truly appreciate your thoughts.

    • Thank you, Isaac. I’m so glad you liked it. I’m still looking forward to your next poem. Thanks so much for being a frequent visitor here, and for all your encouraging comments.
      God bless you and “benedicters” too! We often call our cat “Benedicto.” : )

  4. Isn’t it amazing that the Lord of all Creation….thinks of us! What a glorious day it is going to be when we are all face to face with Him. Thanks for this inspiring post..and all your encouraging comments on mine.
    Blessings Patricia

    • Yes, so amazing! And, like St. Catherine of Siena wrote, He is really “intoxicated” with us! What a source of great joy for all of us who dare to believe it! Thank you so much for visiting and taking time to comment. God love you!

  5. My goodness, what a beautiful post! It sounds like an awesome conference you attended. I live on the outskirts of New Orleans. Was this the Marian conference that took place here this year at the end of May?

    • Thank you Dana, No, it wasn’t this year. I didn’t even know they were still having the Marian conferences in N.O. Actually, this one was back in the very early 90’s, at the convention center on the river. It was huge — thousands of people. The last one I attended was around 1998, and it was much smaller and had been moved to the Ponchatrain Center. Have you ever been to any retreats at Rosaryville? I used to go all the time. They had Eucharistic Adoration Retreats. It was amazing – Exposition the whole weekend; Eucharistic centered talks by different priests, a Procession Saturday night, sometimes outside under the stars and all around the grounds. It was wonderful. The dear nun who organized them has been ill for several years now, so they too are a thing of the past. Such lovely memories though! Glad you are a neighbor : )

Your thoughts?

