Tuesday Adoration – perfectly timed

Just the other night I was thinking about how life has been pretty much humming along for the past year or so.  A bump or two in the road here and there, but otherwise, pretty peaceful — especially in contrast to the past dozen or so years.

Those were loaded with some heavy-duty crosses, like my husband losing his job -right after we’d built a brand new house, and having to work 5 hours away from home for three years (commuting back and forth on weekends.) 

This happened in the midst of my sister and me moving our parents out of their home of fifty years in New Orleans, to a house in our town so that we could look after them.  We did so for five years, until they both died in 2008, only 13 days apart.

I won’t go into the many other humdinger crosses that fell upon me during those years.  I know everyone has similar stories to tell.

However, as I mentioned above, it has been uncharacteristically serene around here for way longer than usual.

Now, be careful what you think about.  You see, God was listening.  God also knew that I had recently written a post entitled:  Suffering, get it while you can.

He wasn’t about to let me get away with that one.  So this morning I had some news that is really quite devastating.  It is a situation out of my control, and yet I feel the blows keenly. 

I can only watch and pray.  And that is why I was so very grateful that God sent this cross today, when I knew I would have two precious hours in His Presence, followed by Holy Mass and Communion.

Today at least, I have had a wonderful sense of peace, and even joy, in spite of the circumstances.  I don’t know if those gifts will endure or not.  But I feel strong.

A few years ago, I saw a movie about warriors back in ancient times.  It was some obscure movie my husband found.  These men had no fear.  They plunged right into battle without hesitation.

I wondered how they did it, how they managed not to be afraid.  Then it occurred to me that they had gone into battle so many times and survived, that they didn’t think about dying.  They expected each battle to end like the last.  They would be victorious.

The battle-ready warriors taught me something about suffering.  When you have suffered many things, and still came though it all with joy and peace in the end, then you don’t fear the next time as much.  You know Who your Strength is; Who your Rock is; Who comforts you; Who knows your limits; you know the One Whose Love carries you through to the other side –to the green pastures and the still waters.

You learn that you don’t have to be strong, because He is Everything.  And you won’t die, because the only death is to lose HIM.

10 thoughts on “Tuesday Adoration – perfectly timed

  1. I turned 54 on July 8, but something happened on May 25, 2011 that caught me by surprise. I was praying the Divine Office and I felt a pain in my chest. I was determined to finish my Evening Prayer and then a pain in my left arm. Strange.. I finished praying and laid down in bed an a pain went up my neck, behind both ears. I shook my wife Anita and siad I think I need to go to the hospital.

    She jumped up tok one look at me and said “Change your underwear” and bing the good husband that I am I did. She woke up our 15 year old son at 1:00 a.m. who thought it was time to go to school. No, we are taking your dad to the hospital. We dirve. 1/2 mile to the hospital at break neck speed and found myself bing hooled up to an EKG machine and IVs in both arms. Two hour later I had a sint put in the Right Coronary Artery which had a 100% blockage.

    Yesterday coming home form soccer my 15 year old asked “Dad, wherd you afraid of dying?”. I thought about it and told him the thought of dying never crossed my mind. My father passed away at the age of 52 with a brain aneurysm.

    What is it about dying that we are afriad of? Isn’t death a part of living? I am now thninking God has given me another chance of living! Why? What For?

    I pray that God uses evey ounce of my strenght and every ounce of talent that He gave me, before I die. Maybe I haven’t used them all yet.
    God bless and may he continue to bless this site.

    Mike K

    • Mike, thank God you survived! You were wise to get to the hospital immediately. My sweet mom had emergency quadruple bypass surgery when she was seventy-one. She then went on to live almost 23 more years, dying 3 weeks before her 94th birthday. She was a loving companion to my dad all those years, and a dear mom and grandmother to my sisters and me and our children. (BTW, she never had a heart attack or any future heart surgeries during all those ensuing years.) So, you never know what God has planned for you. For sure, you family is grateful to have you! The best years of your life may yet lie ahead! May God bless you and keep you in good health!

  2. Patricia, rest assured your intention will be well prayed-for. Many is the time when things were going along without a hitch when I would wonder out loud if God still loved me, since things were going so well. You’re right – He pays close attention and our God, Who is a God of suffering and pain, reassures us of His love by sending us more crosses. I entrust your intention to St. Therese, whose image I found in the street today and I could not bear to leave her there any longer, for cars to run over or worse. Everything, even the smallest seemingly inconsequential occurrences, happen for a reason.

    • Joyce, the most amazing things happen to you! Seems like Therese wanted you to know that she is very much with you.
      Thank you so much for your prayers which are desperately needed. On top of the other stuff, our precious little cat, which we adopted from a rescue group last year after our other beloved pet had to be put down, disappeared today. My husband let him out this morning, like he always does when he cuts the grass. Usually he stays in the area. But he disappeared almost right away, and we have not seen him since. I’m trying not to be devastated yet, but if he isn’t back in the morning, I will surely be! I have grown to love him so much. He is such a character.

      For sure God does pay attention! . But I hope He will spare us the loss of our little Benedict. (Yes, he is named for our dear Holy Father.)
      It is always so good to hear from you. You understand so well. I don’t think I could ever “wish” to suffer like Therese did, but I love that she never asked for “extra.” She knew God would send her just the right amount.
      All God’s blessings to you, Joyce. Thanks again for your prayers!

  3. Patricia,

    it seems to me that your time spent in adoration is very fruitful-you are able to leave your suffering upon His shoulders and carry on with an uplifted attitude. “The only death is to lose him.””–how very profound and true!

    • HI Anne. Yes, adoration is my lifeline. Years ago, I couldn’t figure out how to get going spiritually, and so I thought that if I just spent time with Jesus, sort of like Mary of Bethany, that it had to help. And, it really has. No matter what’s going on with me, or how awful I’ve been, I always feel so much better after being with Him. How could you not? : ) I try to encourage others to take up the practice, because it has really made a difference for me. And, He’s so lonely. It’s such an amazing privilege to go there and sometimes have Him all to yourself! We moved to a rural area 12 years ago, and because of that and some other issues, I can’t often make daily Mass like I used to. But God supplies, and somehow the Eucharistic Adoration is “food”, unitl I can work out some of these problems and get back to daily Mass. So glad you stopped by my blog. God bless you!

Your thoughts?

