Lesson from a closet

I have a migraine today, and so while I have been hanging around not doing much of anything, my husband got out his tools and went to work in my closet.  He lowered the clothes bar from 75 inches to 65 inches.  The contractor had installed it too high when we built the house a few years ago.  It was usable, but not convenient.  (My arms did get a nice workout though.)

My sweet husband even took out all my clothes to do this chore, and then re-hung them again after he was finished.  He insisted that I rest with my headache.

After he was done, I was genuinely surprised at how much of a difference those ten inches made, and I gratefully exclaimed, “Oh, this is SO MUCH BETTER!  Thank you!”  And I gave him a big hug.

I could tell by the way he hugged me back, and the proud little grin on his face, that he was happy I was so pleased.

I found myself thinking about all the times I take for granted the really nice things he does for me.  I try to thank him, but we all know the difference between a routine thank-you, and a really heartfelt expression of genuine gratitude.

And, I’m ashamed of some of the things I complain about, especially that he doesn’t follow some of my fanatical protocols in the kitchen:  Did you soak the tomatoes in bleach solution?  I don’t think you washed your hands long enough.  Blah, blah!

Hmm, I wouldn’t blame him if he threw a tomato at me.  Often the people we live with are the ones we forget to appreciate the most.  It’s so easy to notice what they do to annoy us, because they are always around, but we grow used to their kindnesses, as though we deserve them.

I’m going to make a real effort to truly give thanks to my husband, for all his little expressions of love to me.  I really am grateful.  I just need to express it more.

Oh, he just came in from the supermarket with bags of groceries.  He’s fixing dinner tonight so I can rest my head.

Thank you, Lord, for this good man you have given to me.  Help me to see my own faults and failings, but give me the grace to overlook his.  And most of all, grant that I may not permit even one act of love and kindness he shows me to go unappreciated.

P.S.  And Lord, remind me to make him his beloved cheesecake tomorrow.  : )

4 thoughts on “Lesson from a closet

    • Yes! Awesome indeed! One thing I constantly have to remind myself is that my husband likes to show his love by doing things for me, rather than
      using words so much. Most guys seem to be like that. BTW, I sent my husband a link to that post, and he was grinning from ear to ear the rest of the day : ) He was
      very pleased. Makes me sorry that he had to actually read what I wrote to know how I feel! A little wakeup call for me!

  1. What a good lesson. I woke up with a migraine today – the morning of my youngest’s kindergarten graduation. I suffer with them a lot. Do you? My husband is an angel as well. He often picks up my slack when I’m in my cave with my meds, my ice pack and with the lights out. Thank God for our good men.

    • Oh, I hope you were able to make your son’s graduation! I know your frustration. The Lord has used migraines to humble me throughout my adult life. I do get them frequently, and I have had to cancel so many appointments and miss all kinds of family and friend celebrations, etc. There are certain people, who when they see me will always ask, “How are your headaches?” Ouch! It’s hard being known as “the headache lady.” : ) But, it has definitely been a tool to whack away at my pride. My husband has often had to carry more than his share of the load, but I know God blesses him so much for his patience and kindness with me and my head! Hey, what would we do without our ice packs? I remember driving my son to school many mornings while trying to balance an icepack on my head. Good luck to you with those horrid H/A’s, and hope you are doing well now. And God bless our understanding husbands!!

Your thoughts?

