You ravish My Heart, My sister, My promised bride, you ravish My Heart with a single one of your glances, with a single link of your necklace. The Song of Songs 4:9

I heard a question not long ago:  a sad person asked, “Why does God love me?”  I wanted to seek out this person and joyfully shout:  “Because He has to!”                                                                                                                                                                   

Love seeks its prey.  Divine Love is a raging Fire which cannot be extinguished, a torrent of Thirst which can never be satiated.

No matter who we are, or what we have done, God cannot help Himself.  He is madly in love with us.

Our unmerited good fortune is beyond belief!  And if we love Him in return, what then?   We give Him to drink, and He is so grateful that He draws us into union with His Divine Being, and we become lovers too!                                “I  THIRST.”   John 19: ..28  

                                                         St Therese of  Lisieux 
                     “My God, I wish to love You as you have never been loved before!”   

St. Therese of Lisieux

2 thoughts on “You ravish My Heart, My sister, My promised bride, you ravish My Heart with a single one of your glances, with a single link of your necklace. The Song of Songs 4:9

    • Oh yes! Therese is such a beautiful example of someone who lived a simple, hidden life, and yet became “the greatest Saint of modern times,” because, like Mary Magdalen, “she loved much.” Her message gives great hope to all of us who cannot do great things — and I suppose that is most of us! I am fascinated by the glory which God has deigned to shower upon Therese, even raising her to the honor of Doctor of the Church, and most recently, having her parents beatified. It seems there is nothing He won’t do for her. Yet she always rejoiced in her littleness, and said that she would appear before God with “empty hands.” But her heart was far from empty! Her beautiful mission is one that we can all aspire to, don’t you think?

Your thoughts?

