They just don’t get it…….

PopeBenedictXVI_3They don’t get it, do they? They just don’t get it! I’m speaking, of course, of the secular media, as well as the dissident Catholics they choose as spokespersons for the Church. Somehow, they think that with each new pope, they will finally get what they want: a Catholic Church which conforms to the world’s standards of right and wrong, good and evil.

No, they really don’t get that it is the Church which is entrusted with conforming the world to Christ, and calling all people to holiness. The Church will never compromise on faith and morals, for if she did, she would betray her Founder Who promised that He would always be with Her…and that the gates of hell would not prevail.

In our day and time of Internet and social media, an aged and frail pope cannot rest quietly within the safe confines of the Vatican and pretend that it doesn’t matter that he simply does not have the energy and vigor to travel about and be a visible and strong leader in a world, seemingly gone mad…in an era when homosexual activists stripped off their clothes in St. Peter’s Square, and shouted at the Holy Father to “shut up” while they were dragged away, kicking and screaming by police.

The Church is not static; she can change with the times in matters of discipline. The retirement of a pope whose health is frail and energy depleted is apparently one of them. This would never have been necessary 50 years ago…or perhaps even 20. But who could have foreseen the rapid rate at which the culture, as well as the people of God, have deteriorated in only a few years. ┬áThe roaring lion has been working overtime..which sould give us hope that his power is about to be crushed.

I love Pope Benedict, and am heartbroken that he is leaving us. His brilliance is unmatched by any pope of my lifetime. I wish he could stay, but I trust his prayerful discernment.

Let us pray that God will send us a holy shepherd, instilled with the gifts needed to lead us well into this 21st century.

And soon, the hopes of the dissidents will fade…as just like after Blessed John Paul II’s death, they roared for a while, and then were stilled by the election of a faithful priest of Jesus Christ, whose leadership will one day be known for its greatness.

God bless you beloved Pope Benedict. Pray for us.

14 thoughts on “They just don’t get it…….

  1. Hi Patricia,
    Our past two popes have had a very difficult time of it due to the condition of the world. I’ll miss Pope Benedict and I thank him for all his wisdom and hard work. As you say, the Church will never conform to the world – thank you, Lord!

    Are you feeling much better now? I hope so! Hugs to you, my friend!

    • Hi Mary, so good to “see” you! Would you believe comments were off on my blog and I didn’t have a clue, until Nancy e-mailed me and mentioned it. Then I had quite a time getting them back on. I agree with you; the world has changed so much over the past few decades, but it seems even more accelerated now. I remember poor Pope Paul VI. He seemed such a sad pope. He was so hated for going against his advisers on the contraception issue. But time has certainly proved his wisdom. Yes, our poor popes suffer so much. I feel sorry for the next one already. They really need our prayers. I love the humility and gentleness of Pope Benedict…in one so brilliant of mind, yet shy and retiring. I have to get caught up over at your blog. When I was sick, I didn’t really feel like getting online much, and was so behind with things at home. I’m looking forward to Lent tomorrow! Hugs right back at you, Mary. It was so nice to see the comment button lit up again :) xoxo
      PS Yes, I’m feeling much better. I had a mild relapse after returning from retreat..guess I wasn’t quite well enough for the demands of that weekend, but it was worth it :) Had to get back on meds again and rest some more, but now I’m feeling pretty normal, and only have a very slight bit of redness which the doctor said will soon fade. Thanks for asking :)

  2. Thank you, Marie-Therese! Very well put.Just what we have all been thinking. Now we pray, giving thanks to God for Benedict’s pontificate and invoking the Holy Spirit for the Conclave.

    • Ho-ho, Ana Therese! I see you got my e-mail. :) Thanks so much for stopping by. The media is so unfair. It breaks my heart the way they always cover the Church in such a negative light. But then, our Blessed Lord told us they would treat us as they treated Him. I’m so proud to be a Catholic…in a Church which doesn’t compromise with the world’s values. Thank God for His Holy Spirit guiding our pontiffs. My friend Joyce at http://saintbyhalves.blogspot.com is looking for people to join in an ongoing rosary..each person saying one decade daily. I think it’s such a wonderful thing to do now. I feel as though the world has never needed prayer so much as in our time. I live in the south, and today is Mardi Gras…which has become simply awful. Thank goodness, it is also the Feast of the Holy Face of Jesus. I’m so happy you got your first post up. I look forward to reading it, and pray you figured out the picture problem :) Blessings, Cindy..and a most Holy Lent.

  3. I couldn’t agree with you more Patricia, that the world just doesn’t get it. They don’t realize the Church must not conform to its demands, just as we must not drag worship down to our level or abdicate our morality to change with the times. Jesus Christ the same yesterday, today, forever, in spite of what the world thinks. Peace, Joyce

    • Don’t you love being Catholic, Joyce? We know that Our Lord will always protect us and keep us in the unchanging truth. Of course TRUTH can never change..but it seems everything is up for grabs these days. I love our popes, and I know I will learn to love the next one, but I will never forget dear, humble and gentle Benedict. I guess we are in for some excitement during the coming weeks! I hope it won’t take many ballots for us to have a new Holy Father. I was thrilled with the choice 8 years ago, but I have no idea who is out there now….so this will be a big surprise for me. God bless you..and the Church!

  4. Hi Patricia,

    I am glad to see your comments are back! Yesterday I sat for a long time wondering where the comment button was. Was I just not seeing it and it was there right in front of my nose? I was going to email you too. I thought perhaps you’d turned the comments off after receiving all those hurtful ones the other day. But you are made of stern stuff and that wasn’t the reason, and now you are back! I’m glad it was just a mistake.

    I have to confess I haven’t watched any media coverage of the Pope’s announcement. All my information has come from blogs and a couple of Catholic sites. It must be so upsetting to see and hear ‘the world’s’ opinions on the resignation and the future pope. Yes, they just do not understand. Maybe the media coverage and the papal election will be one of Nancy’s windows through which some people will glimpse the truth. Seeing so many faithful united in prayer is very moving and can change hearts.

    Your post yesterday (that I was going to comment on!) brought tears to my eyes. It amazes me that we can love someone we have never met with such strong feelings. It is hard to describe to an outsider. He is our Holy Father and we love him, and will miss him. At the same time, I know Pope Benedict is doing God’s will. This is all part of God’s perfect plan. Trust, pray and wait. Lent will be a time of great grace, I’m sure.

    Talking of Lent, it has already arrived for us. It is mid afternoon here, and we are fasting and abstaining, or starving as Gemma-Rose put it (with a smile on her face).

    God bless!

    • Dear, dear Sue! I hope you (and the others) will forgive me for taking so long to reply. As you might have read, I was on vacation with my husband during the week Pope Benedict resigned. Naturally, I had to pop onto my computer to put in my two cents…but didn’t want to totally ignore hubby on a Valentine’s getaway :)

      So…I snuck in some computer time when he was in the shower, or out of the room for one reason or another. Unfortunately, that didn’t give me much time to respond to comments. And, then I returned home to other problems…so here I am, late, but grateful to all who took the time to comment xoxoxo

      I was so horrified that comments were off on all of my recent posts. Don’t know how that happened….although I must admit that I had tried to turn them off on that one post….as I felt it was time to close them, and didn’t want any additional combative “input.” I couldn’t seem to turn them off…but guess I turned something off on my later posts. It took me about an hour of trial and error to figure out how to restore comment function. I wondered where everyone was…and I missed all of you :)

      You are probably much better off not following the secular media’s reporting on our Holy Father. As I wrote in my post…they just don’t get it. There was a headline in our local newspaper yesterday: “new pope should be…a nun.” How crazy is THAT?

      Yes, it is so amazing and beautiful how we can fall in love with our popes…most likely because we so clearly see Christ in them, and know that He has chosen them to be “Father” to us here on earth. And, they are so harshly treated by people both within and without the Church. It makes you must want to hug them and declare you own gratitude and affection.

      So Gemma Rose was starving, huh? I’m with her! I tried fasting for years, but after almost fainting one Good Friday while buying Easter cards in a pharmacy, I had to buy a Coke immediately. I talked to my priest about it and he suggested I try fasting in other ways…since I am prone to low blood sugar episodes. I miss fasting though. My husband can survive all day on one meal…not eating a thing in between. Wish I could do that.

      BTW, tried to leave a very long comment late the other night on your blog, and it wouldn’t post, and then disappeared! I was horrified. Too late to start over, so I will e-mail you soon. I was so sad that you had been the victim of one of those hateful commenters. Hope you are feeling much better now…and I would miss your blog so much if you shut it down. More on that when I e-mail.

      Love you Sue…thanks for your friendship. I hope Gemma Rose is no longer starving :) Blessed and holy Lent to you and your precious family! Love you!

  5. Sometimes I wonder why the world doesn’t get it. I think it is more of that they don’t want to get it. I too will miss Pope Benedict, but I can understand his reasons and admire his humility.
    Wishing you a blessed and fruitful Lent, Patricia. Hopefully I will get a few thoughts posted during this season as well :)
    God bless.

    • I don’t think the world will ever get it! It reminds me of what Our Lord said about darkness and light. Those in the darkness don’t have the light to see and understand….and like you said, they really don’t seem to want to get it.

      I too admire Pope Benedict’s humility. He is like a little icon of this precious virtue…him with all of His brilliance. Oh…I will miss him!

      I look forward to visiting and reading your always inspiring thoughts, Karin. I am so glad you were able to clear up that glitch you had going on. i have run into that on several Catholic sights…one was a website which featured the Way of the Cross. I’m sure it’s no accident that Catholic sites are being targeted. I had no idea we were so vulnerable.

      Wishing you a most grace-filled Lent. So awesome that you are giving up television! I’m trying to cut back….good thing Downton Abbey had ended its third season :) I do like that show! God bless, dear friend! xoxo

  6. Patrica…Oh you said this so beautifully. No they don’t get it but sometimes the worst of it seems to come from the wolves within…exactly as the Holy Father anticipated early in his pontificate. Then too, our separated brothers and sisters sometimes run amok with the St Malachy prophecies hoping for a final end to the church. Won’t they both be surprised to find out the gates of hell won’t win.

    I know ‘they say’ it’s a great time to be alive…but if I feel this weary .. I can’t even imagine how the Holy Father has felt. Such a testimony to his deep union and relationship with the Holy Spirit who gave him strength to face it all with humility, courage and dignity.

    So much to pray for in the upcoming weeks..

    Glad your feeling better…and figured out the comments! Oh do I ever understand blogging issues LOL

    Love and blessings +

    • Hi Caroline…if you were on WordPress, I would have sent you an SOS to help! I guess it’s a good thing in a way to have to figure it out by myself.

      Oh…those St. Malachy prophecies! I don’t think Our Lord would herald the end quite that way. I’m sure we will have many more popes to come. I just pray He will bless us with a truly holy and outspoken one who will be absolutely uncompromising. In other words, the total opposite of what the media is clamoring for : )

      I’m weary too, Caroline. I lived through the 60′s sexual revolution, etc., and all the craziness that followed. But, I’ve never seen anything like what we are contending with now. It makes the 60′s seem like child’s play. I don’t see how we can ever restore our country, our culture, our world to any standard of morality and godliness without direct intervention from God Himself. The pro-abortion/gay rights coalition is totally out of control but even has the US government backing them, as well as tons of money.

      So grateful we all have each other. I love to come here and find people who really understand and who are praying too. What a blessing they are….and you always. Big hugs to you, and many prayers for a holy Lent. xoxo

Your thoughts?

