Tuesday adoration….Mary is matchless

Mary was on my mind yesterday during adoration, no doubt because I was reading 33 Days to Morning Glory, and also because of the recent events related in my last post.

But it’s more than that. I’ve mentioned before that I listen to Catholic radio a lot, and during the call-in shows, Mary is often a topic of conversation. So many people simply do not grasp her sublime place in God’s Plan for our salvation, or worse yet, they think she was simply a convenient vehicle used by God to bring the Savior into the world. After Jesus was born, these individuals assume that Mary and Joseph led a normal married life and that Mary simply faded into oblivion.

What an insult to God! First to imagine that His Son would be conceived by an ordinary woman who had not been perfectly prepared by Him. Secondly, to ascribe to God such a capricious attitude of using one of His creatures for so exalted a purpose and then to essentially forget about her….to credit nothing to her for the sacrifice of her very own Son.

Scripture and the Church present us with such a very different picture of Mary’s life and Mary’s purpose.

The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you….

What a great Mystery!  Mary is asked, and consents to be the Mother of Jesus.

And…in a glorious silence containing all the Power of Heaven and earth, the Holy Spirit overshadows her and enters into her virginal womb to create the Body and Soul of the God-Man, that Human Nature which would be hypostatically united to the Divine Nature and Person of the Son of God.

The Incarnation is God’s greatest Work, and It took place within Mary, hidden in silence, unheralded save by Gabriel’s few words to the chosen maiden.

How holy Mary was from the first moment of her Immaculate Conception… Full of Grace, as Gabriel addressed her. But what new and unique Graces surely flooded her soul in that wondrous Instant when she became the Mother of God, and truly the Spouse of the Holy Spirit!

Can anyone really dare to think that all of this happened in an off-handed, matter of fact way? That God overshadowed Mary, and then departed, bestowing no splendor of Grace, no bond between Himself and this Woman carrying the very Son of God, now incarnate?

Mary is matchless, and we can never comprehend her holiness and her unique relationship to God.  She is not Divine. God is infinitely above all of His creatures. But Mary has an exalted place which cannot be approached by even the greatest of the Saints.

She is the God-Bearer. And once you say that, what is left to say about her greatness? All that she is and all that she has was bestowed upon her because of the ineffable and most pure intimacy she experienced with the Most Holy Trinity.

Who can plumb the mysteries which passed between God and Mary in that Moment which changed everything? The Son became her Child…uniting her flesh to His Being in an act of humility and Gift for which the angels surely were rendered speechless to praise.

Yes, God defeated Satan through a humble maiden, forever raised to the heights of holiness because of her relationship with God.

If we become holy through Baptism, when The Trinity comes to indwell us, then what is there to say of Mary’s holiness, her relationship to God, her exaltation?

O Mary, Daughter of the Most High, Mother of the Eternal Word, Spouse of the Holy Spirit, pray for us!

16 thoughts on “Tuesday adoration….Mary is matchless

  1. An excellent and beautiful post on Our Lady, Patricia.
    “She is the God-Bearer. And once you say that, what is left to say about her greatness?” I so agree. It is sad that she is so misunderstood, even by some Catholics.
    Thank you for sharing these beautiful thoughts and facts about Our Lord’s and our Mother.
    God bless.

    • Thank you Karen! Whenever I hear those callers putting her down and making her out to be just another disciple of Jesus, I want to cry. It is really a reflection on God, even more so than on Mary…that He would somehow be “diminished” by raising her so high…that He would have so little love and esteem for His Own Mother. Also, I cringe to imagine anyone would think that the womb sanctified by the Presence of Jesus Christ, would then be bearing other children stained with orginal sin. The Catholic understanding of Mary has such a heavenly truth and beauty, and can be found throughout Scripture by those whose hearts are open to receive it. We are so blessed to have our Blessed Mother….and would Jesus Who shares everything with us, neglect to give her to us as well! Thank you for commenting…. wishing you every blessing!

  2. Oh Patricia, It is so sad isn’t it? But lest I stand in judgement, this was me as a Protestant. Unfortunately, when you have no belief in the teaching authority of the church, nor any respect for the church fathers this is the fruit of the preaching. Our Blessed Mother is barely spoken of from the pulpits other that to say she was a human as we are and of course had other children. Many people dare to think this way because to believe otherwise would give credence to Catholicism…A fate worse than death for a Protestant. You have given Our Blessed Mother such honor by posting your wonderful explanation of such Divine Mystery.

    I love her dearly and pray she forgives my many years of spurning her fullness of grace and love.
    Love you +

    • Dear Caroline, you never ceased to be her child. She didn’t have to forgive you, because she understood where you were, and her love for you is so great. Imagine our love for our own children, and what is that compared to the love our Heavenly Mother has for us?

      I have many Protestant friends, some of them former Catholics, and it is so sad. I just can’t grasp that kind of reasoning…as I tried to express in the post and to Karin. God so highly esteemed and rewarded Abraham, Moses, David, etc. Yet, their roles, great as they were, pale in comparison to the Mary’s role.

      I do hear from time to time of Protestants praying the rosary, and some seemed to have a better understanding of Mary after seeing The Passion of the Christ. One day, they will understand.

      I would love to hear your reversion story. Have you written it anywhere on your blog? You seem so totally immersed in your faith that it’s hard to believe you were ever away….just for a moment.

      Hope you had a beautiful Feast Day today! May you always experience the affection and protection of our Sweet Mother who loves you totally.
      Love you too! xoxo

      • Patricia, Your understanding of Mary has blessed me in so many ways. Over the time we found each other’s blogs I’ve grown so much as a result. You help the guilt melt away. I’m not sure if I wrote my reversion story…I can’t remember what I’ve written now after posting for two years : )

        Also I’ve just realized the e-mail server with my site address only receives e-mail-it won’t send out– so all these responses I’ve written to my dear online friends …never got to anybody. Goodness, I hope people know I would never just not respond.

        Thank you, I did have a beautiful feast day.

        Love you ++

        • Thank you, kind Caroline. Please know that you have been a constant blessing to me ever since I first discovered your blog…on the day when you were leaving on vacation last year…with “straight” hair :) I hope all of your guilt melts away as fast as an ice cube on a southen summer day! God knows you were trying your best to please Him in those years away…and you thought you were in the right place. He loves you so much!

          I know what you mean about not remembering what you wrote….. I’m the same way. I’m sure I’ll be repeating myself eventually, if I haven’t already! If you come across you reversion story, I’d love to read it. Have you ever thought about going on The Journey Home with you husband…since he was a pastor? What an inspiration you both would be! Besides, I’d get to see you on tv :)

          I’m sure everyone knows you would not ignore responding…that’s why I asked you about the birds. I knew you would have acknowledged them had you gotten them. But now we know your responses don’t make it out…. You and I did exchange e-mail a couple of times. Am not sure if that was your server address or a different one.

          My sister and I spent the day together, and ended it by going by the special statue of Mary. It was about 9pm, and there were around 50 people there. It was so nice and peaceful…especially hearing the Vietnamese people chanting the rosary in their native tongue. So lovely… Mary’s statue is surrounded with dozens of bouqets of beautiful flowers brought by the many who visit. The hasn’t been any additional bleeding, but their were tears the other night when my sister was there.. It will be interesting to see what comes of it all.

          Well, it is incredibly late! God bless you my dear, dear friend. Thank you for always leaving me your very loving comments.

          Love you too! xo

  3. Other daughters have done virtuously ..but you (O Mary!) have excelled them all! Prov 31:29
    She\’s my sweet jewish Mamale and the crown of all godly womanhood!
    FULL of nothing.. but grace.
    Beautiful post, Patricia!
    love..Trish xx

  4. It took me a long time to appreciate Mary even as a cradle Catholic. I didn’t have anyone in my life who was particularly devoted to her or prayed the rosary. My own relationship with my mother is strained due to years of alcoholism. Yes, we have a relationship but it is not as close as I imagine a mother and daughter should be. Maybe this affected my relationship with Mary. Instead of running into her arms as my Heavenly Mother, I clung to God the Father and Jesus the Son.

    Now, as a mother, I fly to her. As a Carmelite, I am a child consecrated to her. I look to her to help me be a better wife and mother and to intercede for my children. 33 Days to Morning Glory only increased my love for her : )

    • I can relate, Theresa. As a child in Catholic school, I loved our May crownings, wearing blue and white on sodality day, etc. And, I ran to the rosary immediately after my adult conversion. But then, slowly I lost touch with Mary and really felt so guilty about it. I usually struggle with saying a daily rosary..and was glad to read St. Therese did as well. I found Mary again in Carmel, as the perfect model for contemplatives, but still not much closeness for me personally. However, I have always been adamant about defending all of the Church’s teachings about her. Recently, I started asking her to “come closer,” and she has. I’m so happy that you have found her too. I agree….33 Days to Morning Glory is so lovely.

  5. Patricia, this is among your most beautiful of posts. Your love for Our Blessed Mother as well as your belief in her exalted place in salvation history is apparent. The whole post is beautiful but these three paragraphs are especially wonderful:

    And…in a glorious silence containing all the Power of Heaven and earth, the Holy Spirit overshadows her and enters into her virginal womb to create the Body and Soul of the God-Man, that Human Nature which would be hypostatically united to the Divine Nature and Person of the Son of God.

    The Incarnation is God’s greatest Work, and It took place within Mary, hidden in silence, unheralded save by Gabriel’s few words to the chosen maiden.

    How holy Mary was from the first moment of her Immaculate Conception… Full of Grace, as Gabriel addressed her. But what new and unique Graces surely flooded her soul in that wondrous Instant when she became the Mother of God, and truly the Spouse of the Holy Spirit!

    • Thank you, Colleen. As you know, I’ve been reading 33 Days to Morning Glory, and had some great material there to pull from. I love listening to those who have really studied Mary in-depth in Scripture, and see all the “types” of her…such as the Ark of the Covenant. One day, I’ll have to read Scott Hahn’s “Hail Holy Queen.” Have you read it? At any rate, I’m sure that only in Heaven will we really begin to understand her greatness and the vocation God called her to….her glory always redounding to Him, of course. For Him, she was especially prepared.

      xo

    • Thanks Anne! Yes, lots of the ladies have read “33 days..” and I have only heard good things as well. I’m almost done. I was supposed to finish in time to renew my consecration on the Feast of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel. But, I didn’t quite make it. Perhaps I will wait until the Feast of the Assumption instead, and do a bit more preparation. Heaven knows I need it! :)

  6. Patricia,

    Beautiful post! Thanks for sharing. I’m doing “33 Days to Morning Glory” for the 5th time and reconsecrating on the Feast of the Assumption with a group. Just about to head into St. Maximilian Kolbe again, and love it.

    Although “33 Days to Morning Glory” is a Do-It-Yourself preparation, we are in the heart of the New Evangelization, so it is not a keep it to yourself preparation for consecration to Jesus through Mary. It’s awesome to see others commenting on your post that they too are using 33 Days! I’d love to share with you that it is part of a beautiful program called Hearts Afire Parish-based Programs for the New Evangelization. It is a wonderful program that begins with the two hearts —the Immaculate Heart of Mary, which always leads us to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. I hope you have a chance to do “33 Days to Morning Glory” with friends sometime. You’ll love Fr. Gaitley on video. He has a love for Mary that comes through the dvd player. :) http://www.AllHeartsAfire.org

    Thanks again for the great post and blessings on your preparation for Assumption.

    • Hi Kelly! Thank you for your beautiful comment, and for sharing a link to that wonderful website. Lots of the bloggers I know have read “33 Days to Morning Glory,” so it is definitely popular in our corner of the blogosphere. I have seen Father Gaitley on Women of Grace, and he is a joy to watch…his enthusiasm for Our Lord and Our Lady is contagious! (Most of us around here have also read “Consoling the Heart of Jesus.)

      Thank you for your suggestions about joining with others, etc. Right now, I am 8 days away from my son’s wedding, but when I have more time, I hope to look further into what is available at AllHeartsAfire.

      Meanwhile, when I renew my Total Consecration on the Feast of Mary’s Assumption, I’ll unite in spirit with you and your group. :)
      Thank you again! Please visit and comment anytime. God bless you…..and say hello to Father Gaitley for my friends and me.

Your thoughts?

